We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Vista(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
$125
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Lion Motel(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rockport Inn and Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle House Motel(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle House Beachside(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveler rating
324
102
26
4
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
102
26
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbassfire pitcookiesstacy housepool tablestarbucks coffeedvd libraryquichewedding cakecontinental breakfastbilliard roomthe main housesecond floorhot tubbagelsbeautiful place to staygreat view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 466 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days. The view from the room is spectacular of the ocean and the sunrise. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a little patio outside with 2 wicker chairs and a small wicker table. Hot apple cider and fresh baked cookies are served later in the afternoon. The continental breakfast hits the spot and the view from the breakfast room is gorgeous as well. At the front desk was Brandon who was very personable and friendly and helped guide us to restaurants and things to see. We had such a wonderful stay we will be sure to make this a repeat destination in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Greyhoundpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We decided on a mini vacation for 24 hours in Gloucester area. Bass rocks ocean inn did not disappoint. Each room looks out onto the ocean across the street with sliding glass door and a little seating area outside the room. The continental breakfast is nicely laid out and quite complete. All in all a wonderful stay...

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room toward the middle for the best view. If you overlook the pool your ocean view is not unite as good...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Malcom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We took a mini vacation with my husband and 20 old months baby. I love to stay in Bassrock Inn so much and consider our secret get away for my birthday in October. I travel around the world for beach vacation and saw a lots of exotic place and our parents owns the beach house next to Watch Hill, RI. I am telling you nothing compare to this place. Couple factors that I love there are a long sidewalk with a stunning view that anyone can access no private own. We went to walk with the family and not nervous about the car with running to us since they had a sidewalk. They had Breakfast included and gourmet tea and fresh cookies afternoon the same tea that Starbucks has. There so much beautiful beachs and stunning parks around for toddler to do. I rated my trip to 10 excellent and I could not beleive it only took me 2 and half hours to drive to a beautiful place no hectic of flight. My husband loves it also. It is not far to Salem, MA or around. LOVE LOVE LOVE.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bellangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed for two nights on an October weekend and were very pleased with our stay. Beautiful weather, ocean, town and motel. The room (Room 215) was very clean and spacious except for the bathroom which was small but that didn't bother us. The staff were very pleasent. The road in front of the hotel was not very busy and did not really detract from the ocean views. However we were there later in October after the peak season. Even though we were there on a beautiful weekend there were not too many people golfing and didn't notice them or hear them until we left the room. The balcony is not private but it is very roomy with seating for 4 and a coffee table. The only inconvenience was there being no microwave in the room. We did have a small fridge and coffee maker. The continental breakfast was simple but had fresh baked muffins and cookies! The cookies were available at all hours which made it nice to drop in for tea/coffee and snack during the day. The hot apple cider, available during the evenings, was excellent. We will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExposForeverMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a grand place to stay on the ocean front. Each room has its own view of the ocean. Our room was the same as advertised. Staff is quite friendly and helpful. Morning breakfast buffet is perfect to start your day. The afternoon cookies and teas are the perfect "comfort food" after a day of touring about.On suggestion of one of the staff, we went to a restaurant where the locals eat, not tourists. Just great and delicious. The sitting area across the street is comfy with a fantastic ocean view. We stayed 3 days. We hated to leave, but we WILL return!!!!!

Room Tip: Any room is a grand room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vaweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews