We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
Nearby Hotels
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Vista(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
$125
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Lion Motel(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rockport Inn and Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$159
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle House Motel(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle House Beachside(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveler rating
324
102
26
4
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
102
26
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbassfire pitcookiesstacy housepool tablestarbucks coffeedvd libraryquichewedding cakecontinental breakfastbilliard roomthe main housesecond floorhot tubbagelsbeautiful place to staygreat view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 466 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Inn sits on Gloucester's Back Shore, facing the open Atlantic. It is a two story building, with comfortable, clean rooms, and an outside sitting area that provides a beautiful view of the rocks and crashing sea. Te inn serves a generous breakfast and has a fine heated pool. In front of the inn is a wonderful shore road, with a sidewalk on the ocean side -- one can go one and one-falf miles one way and one mile the other along the shore. It is a flat walk and do be n=done every day. Within a mile is ood HArbor Beach -- just ranked in a Boston Globe poll as the best beach in the state. The beach is over a half mile long with dunes in its rear and crasing waves when the wind is right. There is a fine view of both Salt island and Thatcher's Island (twith its twin lighthouses)

Room Tip: Gloucester and Rockport sit next to one another on the Cape Ann penninsula -- there are so many fine things to do. To name a few: Rocky neck with its restaurants and the old Gloucester schooner Adventure, and the nearby Gloucester Stage Company; the downtown area, with shops, restaurants, whale watch boats and the day sailing schooners lannon and Ardelle, and then the cut with the famous fisherman statue. In Rockport their is bearskin neck, the charming main street area, the concert hall; and on the trip around Cape Ann be sure to stop at Halibut Point park
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breeze_of_wind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was a great getaway. Super clean room, friendly staff and a superb view over the rocky shoreline. The covered balcony with comfy wicker furniture felt like a real haven. We've booked for next year already.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmySRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

They canceled my mother-in-laws reservation in error and refused to take responsibility. My husband and I, and 2 young children, live in Gloucester. My mother-in-law, who is from New York City, booked a king bedroom room, second floor, for Labor Day weekend 2012 (Fri-Mon) weeks in advance. She received a oonfirmatory email with confirmation number. After she booked, I went to tour the premises and explained that she was staying there, gave her name and they showed me a room that would be similar to the one she had reserved. However-when she arrived on Friday of Labor Day weekend we discovered that THEY HAD CANCELED HER RESERVATION and had no room available to rent to her. Then, they blamed it on us and said that we had cancelled her reservation. Initially when I asked why her resevervation was canceled they said "I don't know." That then turned into their alleging that we cancelled her reservation (why would she, or my husband & I, cancel her reservation when she was taking a train from New York City to see us and stay at this hotel?). I then called all over the city to find a place for her to stay. Bass Rocks found a room at another hotel for her Friday night and Sunday night (different rooms/ same hotel) but nothing for Sat night. And this is ALL they did. They were quite satisfied with their assistance and blamed us for their clear error. I found a room at The Emerson Inn in Rockport- a cottage for $200 more per night and after we told them this story they agreed to rent us the room for only $100/night more. Bass Rocks did nothing but blame us and I tried to rationalize with them-why would we cancel her reservation? But it was like talking to a brick wall. They took no responsibility and did very little to help us. STAY AWAY!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
13  Thank nancy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We tried this place after many years of staying at another close by. It was nice having a completely covered balcony to have coffee on in the morning right outside of the room sliding doors overlooking the Atlantic. The continental breakfast in the lobby is average but there is a excellent breakfast served right next door, about a one minute walk. 10 minute walk to Good Habor beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkinSaratoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Beautiful views of the ocean. Bed is very nice but bathrooms need updating. When sitting outside on your balcony you are sitting right next to your neightbor - no dividers. Breakfast was very nice! Some guests took over the whole place and had no consideration for the rest of us trying to have a restful vacation. For example, loud cookouts at night inviting several people to it and taking over the lawn. No one could sit outside because they were so obnoxious, telling racial jokes, and it was after 9pm. Another group brought several (at least 5-7 people) in from another hotel and they completely took over the pool and were being loud/drinking. After they sucked up the sun and ambiance for the whole day, I heard them say, "OK we have to go to our hotel." They had several kids and it just wasn't right. Our room was approximately $350/night and you would expect to have better control/setting than that. Someone from management needed to step in on both of these situations. There was a young man working on the maintenance crew who worked very hard and was always pleasant. The ambiance had the potential to be so nice and romantic but I truly feel like it was ruined.

Also, I never read that there was a golf course at the back of the hotel...so, by 6:00 a.m. all you could hear was ting, ting, ting from the golfers driving off the tee box. Bing ear plugs!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLK92907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews