We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive, no frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Crow's Nest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crow's Nest Inn
Ranked #7 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Muskegon, MI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, no frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

We stayed here two nights. The rooms are no frills, above the bar. No AC. I do think they need to work on the entrance doors. The doors do not automatically shut so can easily be left open all night. The people in the bar were very helpful and friendly. Good restaurants are close and easily walkable. I was fine with this room, but people who expect a traditional hotel experience might be uncomfortable

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

Friendly staff. They helped us find a good place for dinner and welcomed us warmly. Not the typical place my husband and I would stay but the hot shower and smiles all around were nice. The view from the hotel was awful....harbor full of cargo and shipping vessels but we were close to the beach if we wanted to drive there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeaniegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

Stayed at Crow's Nest Inn for 3 nights to attend a wedding in Gloucester. Overall, it's a good value for the money. We paid $75 for double occupancy. Check in/out is done at the bar downstairs. Then we walked to the back of the building to access the stairs to our room.

Previous reviewer mentioned no A/C but it's updated now. Our room has central A/C. The room is also equipped with a mini fridge, microwave and small flat screen tv. The bathroom is clean, no daily housekeeping service but fresh towels are provided daily. It looks like smoking is permitted since there are three ashtrays in our room.

The Crow's Nest Inn is located within walking distance to downtown Gloucester. There's also a 24hr Walgreens nearby. On street parking is not hard to find, we're able to find a spot right across the street on a busy weekend.

See also pictures that I uploaded.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

This place has nostalgia written all over it, due to the movie. A no -frills, basic place to stay and the cheapest by far in Gloucester. Minimal amenities, but duh- its over a bar. No A/C but with the breeze and a fan, it was perfect. If you just need a place to sleep becuase you will be sight-seeing the rest of the time, this is the place to go...if you like lavishness....pay the 300 bucks a night somewhere else. Tne bar caters to fisherman and the like....it provides a glimpse into their lives. you may just appreciate your seafood a little more once you get an idea of what these guys have t go through. Watch the movie first, then stay at the Crow's nest. You'll have a new perspective.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julsofthenile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buxxy007
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

Hey, it's not fancy but if you just go and decide to take in the locals and have a drink or two you will enjoy yourself! And the rooms above the pub are just fine - basic but fine and clean as well. The bartender is a hoot with the longest pours I've ever seen and the locals are interesting....don't judge anybody there....just go. It's kind of part of history now and an interesting place to take in the Crow's Nest place in movie history. Ask for the photo album and see for yourself. The bartender has it...plus plenty of stories. It's safe and as much fun as you make it..... The Jersey Girls....

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank buxxy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reevstar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2007

Stayed here for a wedding weekend, 3 nights. Cant beat the $65 a night. There was no AC but gloucester stays cool in the summer and wasnt really an issue except when i was putting on my tux. 90's all weekend.

The room had a full and a twin and a TV without a remote. We were only looking for a place to sleep, and it was great for that. Staff was super nice, checking in at a bar was a first for me, but added to the experience. It was definitely a salty establishment, which was a perfect fit for a weekend in the salt capital.

Clean towels every day, no bed service, which is ok with me, bathroom was old, but very clean. Wife had no issues with that, which means it was actually very good.

Hey, 65 bucks....I rate this place a 5 among $65 motels. In new england, they dont even exist. I WOULD GO BACK.


Helpful?
2 Thank reevstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2006

This is my most favorite place to stay in Gloucester. For a single woman traveling alone it is important to find a place where the people are friendly and I feel safe. The rooms are basic no frills but they're clean and I never ran out of towels. The Crows Nest is within walking distance of just about everything there is to see in Gloucester. Otherwise there is an amazing taxi service that costs about $3.00 to go from one end of the island to the other. The motel is located over the bar so it may not be the place to take children but it is excellent for people who are there to take in all the wonderful history that Gloucester has to offer.

Helpful?
4 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.7 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
#4 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#2 of 17 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crow's Nest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crow's Nest Inn

Property: Crow's Nest Inn
Address: 334 Main St, Gloucester, MA 01930-3011
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Crow's Nest Inn Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing