We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crow's Nest Inn
Nearby Hotels
Beauport Hotel Gloucester(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
$300
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Vista(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
$159
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
$170
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
$171
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Lion Motel(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rockport Inn and Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle House Motel(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle House Beachside(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
9
15
13
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
15
13
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot showerfishermanstormfilmingmotel
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 40 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

If you are out for an adventure - Stay on top of the Crows nest bar - a real hang out for fishermen and what ever hangs around in the harbour area. Check in at the bar (very friendly) and walk UP the street to the back of the building. If you can work out the keys and find the right door you are all set. Our room was avarage by size and had windows straight to the street and the harbour. Even though we stayed just above the door to the bar we never noticed it for real. The room was long gone worn out, but clean and spacy. But what do you expect at the price half of the rest of the area. The extra comfort: Microwave oven and refrigirator. Wifi was fast and free of charge. Parking at the street at own risk. The check out was in the empty bar in the morning. We had a cosy talk with the morning man (owner?) 2 dots isnot because the room or the service is bad. It reflects the standard and placement. Would we stay there again? We would if we were in town again! Would we go to the town again - well.. propably not.

Room Tip: There are no luxury rooms - sorry
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The room was clean, but outdated. Our room was on the second floor, so it helped cut down on the noise from the bar, but no elevator so lots of stairs. If you have small children I would stay elsewhere. The stairs were steep and concrete. There is no parking so you have to search for a place in front of bar on the street. Makes it difficult for unloading and loading up. On the bright side it is close to beach, shopping, and boat docks at a low price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I love to blend in with the locals and this Bar / Hotel was a great experience. The rooms are attached to a waterfront bar and give you a view of the local industrial fishing marina. You check in by going to the bar and paying and receiving one of the old style metal keys with a plastic motel key ring with "Postage paid if returned by U.S. Mail" inscription; totally nostalgic.

The rooms are nostalgic but very clean, espically the bathroom. Our bathroom looked to be recently redone with nice white marble tile; nice. The bedroom was older in its decor; dented up entertainment center and acoustic ceiling that had been around a while. Again the housekeeping and maintenance is excellent. The carpet looked newer.

The bed was comfortable. The sheets and towels were good as well as the TV. There is a new looking refrigarator and microwave but not coffee maker. The light fixtures and char were old. The ceiling vent was dusty but the windows were clean.

The complaints - AC was not too great, general lack of cold air in the daytime; at night it got cold. There is no mirror in the bedroom; the bathroom mirror is a standard cabinet mirror. No WiFi here but the cable TV offerings were good.

We came in by Commuter Train so we used a cab but there is no parking lot or garage; there is a good supply of street parking.

The location is excellent, within walking distance to downtown Gloucester and some local resturants. The service is very limited with the bartenders offering the only employee on sight during the evening.

The local bar patrons were pretty charming, fishermen and local middleaged women; there were some real old salts about!

The final analysis is that the Crow's Nest is a good deal, a mid level budget motel room with an excellent location and a unique atmosphere. The bartenders were charming to deal with but don't expect an automated reservation process that will provide you a confirmation number, its all hand written and handled personally.

I like the Crow's Nest but if your looking for a standard type of motel or hotel this ain't it.

Room Tip: Romm 25 is excellent
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The Crow's Nest Inn is situated on a busy street that you need to park on as they have no guest parking . We checked in at the bar with a very friendly bartender who recommended we check the room out before we commited to staying there. She gave us a room on the 2nd floor to help cut down on the noise from the bar and we found it to be a nice room with two double beds and a good size bathroom. The room was clean and for the price a good bargain so we took it. There is a lingering smell of cigarette smoke and even though we are non-smoker's it was'nt bad enough that it bothered us. A negative is carrying your luggage up two flights of stairs as the Crow's Nest Inn has no elevator. You also need to bring your own shampoo and there is no electrical outlet in the bathroom. But I emphasize our room was clean and the location was good for walking into town.
We had a drink in the bar one evening and everyone was friendly as we walked around the bar looking at the picture's on the wall of the history of the Crow's Nest and the filming of the Perfect Storm. This is a working bar and not a tourist atttraction so I would recommend young kid's not visit if that kind of atmosphere bothers you.
We enjoyed our two night stay and our room was quiet and clean which is all we ask when traveling and an excellent bargain moneywise to stay at.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank osujohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night during a trip to New England. Rooms are quiet (3rd Floor), but you can smell cigarette smoke everywhere you are. My wife kept waking up to the smell.

Room was clean, with little to no amenities. No shampoo, so bring your own.

Was worth staying there one night, but that's all!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ripcurled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews