We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food; nice ambience”
Review of Rudder Restaurant

Rudder Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 153 Restaurants in Gloucester
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed July 1, 2018

We had calamari, crab cakes, steak tips and a cosmo cocktail.
They were all good.

The place could use a rehaul, though - old world ambience is nice but the place needs new furniture and a lick of paint.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trips8967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 170 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

First of all it was 1/2 off the entire menu. Great price! Oysters were fresh and tasty. Tuna app was large and delicious. Tuna steak entree was rare and also delicious. Tiramisu was great! Drinks were strong and moderately priced.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank wally318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2018 via mobile

We did not have reservations however were seated right away. Server was friendly very chatty. Good personality food was good atmosphere great. Would definately recommend

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank nusmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2018

This used to be a great place. it has always been too crowded but the location is truly awesome. The food has gone downhill and they run out of staples like bread and the great tapenade they serve as a free appetizer. Sushi is not so great. Everything was half price all summer long which was kind of crazy although it did pull us in more than once.

This place has so much history, I hope they can do better with the food and consistency. Even if it means raising the prices. Pretty much the same thing with the sister restaurant The Studio.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Suzy885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017

My husband and I went to the restaurant about 5:30 pm, before the rush. We were immediately seated and the service was excellent all evening. The environment was great with a view of the ocean on the deck, where we sat. The Cioppino was excellent, and would highly recommend. A pleasant surprise. Entrees were 1/2 priced that evening. A must return visit to this restaurant the next time we are on the East Coast. Would highly recommend!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LuckyMesaAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudder Restaurant also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Rudder Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing