We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!!!”
Review of Rudder Restaurant

Rudder Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 154 Restaurants in Gloucester
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed October 21, 2017

My sister and I were told about this restaurant by the staff at Atlantis Oceanfront Inn and we were not disappointed. After a questionable start, trying to locate it in an art colony on Rocky Neck, with parking literally on what appeared to be a working dock, we were very pleasantly surprised with the service, atmosphere and quality of this hidden gem. Our waitress was polite, friendly and efficient. The food was delicious and they have a varied selection of wines. After finishing our appetizer of tasty shrimp skewers and grilled bread, we agreed we could have stopped there but, after tasting our entrees of salmon and the seafood plate, we were glad we didn't. The entire experience at this restaurant was a positive one with the additional bonus that all appetizers and entrees were half price that night!! We try to get to Gloucester every year and this, without a doubt, will be a "must do" on our itinerary on future visits.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peeg1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 170 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2017 via mobile

Four adults, we had a wonderful and very affordable evening dining out on the deck. Calamari appetizer to share, love the capers! And seafood appetizers all around. Generous portions of monkfish, seared tuna on seaweed salad, clams with linguini, and baked scallops. No room for dessert after that! Pleasant walk to and from the parking lot out on the neck. Great staff, attentive but not intrusive. Good pace of meal, neither hurried nor left waiting for next course.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank dcpoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

A wonderful place! We don't know Gloucester very well and we were trying to avoid the touristy places. A wonderful dinner! Great service, amazing atmosphere! Cozy and romantic even though it was packed. We got there early, before 5:00. It was nice to watch the sailboats going by, sitting on the deck. When it was dark later, the ivy and lights on the ceiling were great. Our server was wonderful even though it was packed. The food was pretty good. Very fresh fish. Nothing super special, but we'll prepared. Highly recommended for a casual fun place for a seaside dinner.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Anne Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

We went to Rudder Restaurant on a Saturday and fortunately we ate early (5:30) because we were going to the theater. We easily got a seat by the harbor and the service was prompt. But by 6 or so it was hopping and very busy when we left. The food was delicious and portions were generous but not overwhelming. The lobster and shrimp scampi had a LOT of lobster. Be sure to save room for the Chocolate Lover's Delight, but share it with someone else because it's BIG. Only downside was a cocktail called a Bourbon Smash -- very very sour (way too much lime), so essentially undrinkable.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stillheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017

We always sit on the outside deck, shrimp and lobster scampi, seafood risotto, lobster salad and the best desert ever is the change! service is always very good. Ate here several times during our stay in Rockport

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank sharronsibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudder Restaurant also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Rudder Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing