We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice change of pace in Cape Ann”

Azorean Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Azorean Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 136 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Authentic Mediterranean Cuisine & Casual Dining
Franklin Lakes
Level Contributor
123 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace in Cape Ann”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Modern decor, very good service, and specialty dishes that are excellent. Good draft beers and wine selection.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TreborRemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    84
    24
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great wait staff and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Enjoyed the "Hawaiian Baked Haddock". Amazing blend of tiny bites of pineapple, mild Azorean cheese, crumbs baked atop a melt-in-your mouth big piece of fresh haddock in a casserole dish. When my dinner partner spilled his wine our server cleaned up the mess and replaced the spilled wine with a smile. Our wine came in large glasses, vegetables cooked perfectly. Crusty sliced bread served with olive oil ans spices. Yum!
(

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boat_Gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
174 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Delicious meal with variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a very nice Sunday evening dinner while vacationing. We ordered the Tapa Tower which was comprised of 6 tapas which could selected from about 18 options. We were a little concerned 6 tapas might not be enough since we were very hungry. 6 Tapas was plenty!! In fact, we noticed the portions served for a variety of dinners ordered by other customers was significant. The tapas were flavorful and different levels of spices were available. The service was excellent and the restaurant was very busy later on a Sunday. Nice atmosphere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 2berries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“First time but def not my last time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wow what a great menu this place has - so many flavorful choices! I had the mushroom steak and loved it, but would like to go back in the future many times to try more dishes! Also had the grilled octopus/scallop tapas. Glass of wine with dinner and dessert (I am still dreaming of that flan yum yum~) were delightful and very reasonably priced when most comparable places would inflate much more - for which I was especially pleased. Efficient, professional service all around. Not sure how child friendly it is. Upscale feel without upscale prices. No surprise it is one of the best in Gloucester!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nishamah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always A Gret Meal while in Gloucester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I lived in Rockport/Gloucester for 20 years and ate often at the Azorean. If you are smart you will visit when in Gloucester. Authentic Portuguese food cooked to perfection. The have great tapas, and cheese plates that are also wonderful. The grilled meats, the steaks, the paella. I get hungry just thinking about the food. Never had a bad meal. I know this sounds like an ad, but truly a nice place. I always go when back in town visiting family and friends.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azorean Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Azorean Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing