We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little place”
Review of Sugar Magnolias

Sugar Magnolias
Ranked #6 of 139 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cute little place”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stopped at Sugar Magnolias for a light lunch. Since we couldn't decide what to order we each ordered a different quesadilla and split them. The Med Queso was amazing, with humus, tabbouleh, cucumber, onions & jack cheese. The Apple Jack quesadilla was equally as good. That was made with grilled chicken, apples, onions and jack cheese. The combinations may sound a little unusual, but the flavors were amazing and the portion size was huge. Nothing is served with the quesadilla, but we didn't need anything else. The place is small and crowded, but kinda cozy. Service was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank norma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    69
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as good as it use to be!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

When visiting glouster we magnolias use to be one of our favorite breakfast places...this last visit was terrible. They we're not super busy when we arrived we were seated right away. Sat for awhile and a waitress came over and offer us coffee while we waited for our other waitress. Waited long time while other people who came in after us where seated and served drinks and order taken before us. Our waitress finally came no apology for taking forever...and we are very patience people being a former waitress! Took our order.... Brought us the fruit cup we ordered...no silverware disappeared...brought us out food still no silverware and still no drinks that my husband and kids had ordered...seemed annoyed when we asked for them...plopped a pile of silverware on the end of the table and moved on! Out waitress seemed consumed with how many tables she was getting instead of giving the ones she had good service...unfortunately we probably will not be back...food was not as great as it has been in the past!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reddog220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greater boston area
Level Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Try the Thai Chicken Salad”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I both ordered the Thai Chicken Salad and it was really, really tasty! The ingredients were fresh and the service was fast once we sat down. Our waitress was very sweet and attentive. I highly recommend this restaurant for lunch in Gloucester, MA. A great place for a quick bite to eat. The location is convenient to local shopping. The décor is typical of the area with the painted tin ceilings, very charming.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zuzuboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun Breakfast Menu!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Sugar Magnolias is a cozy cafe serving breakfast and lunch, located in the heart of Gloucester, MA. I couldn't make up my mind on what to choose for breakfast, everything looked so delicious! I ended up getting the carrot cake pancake served with maple cream cheese butter on the side. It was so good! The short stack is 1 very large pancake which was plenty for me. My sister had the almond joy pancake that was made with shredded coconut, chocolate chips and toasted almonds, it was delicious also! I would definitely recommend. Good service, and very reasonable prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RZTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“As promised”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The best part is that there is something for everyone. The meat lovers, the pancake lovers and the foodies. We almost missed the bloody mary's. People get down here and get some breakfast!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlust30268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Magnolias also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Sugar Magnolias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing