We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's coming along” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Main Street

Main Street
Ranked #10 of 52 things to do in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“It's coming along”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Downtown Glocuester has never had the same charm as Rockport, but many new shops and restaurants that arrived over the past several years have started to improve the feel of downtown. We spent a lovely afternoon walking and shopping one end to the next, ending with a delicious dinner at Alchemy Bistro. Highlights include Dogtown Bookstore, which has more books piled all around than anyplace I've seen, and Mystery Train records, where you can still find used vinyl let alone CDs and DVDs.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank RinfromMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    40
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not much to say”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

If the rents were lower there wouldn't be as many vacancies. But doesn't that mean the taxes would have to be lower - or owners would have to be less greedy. For now, I'd blame the city - they just don't get what tourism is all about

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
217 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Chockful of great, non-chain businesses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Everything from fair-trade merchandise, to jewelry, to books (TWO independent booksellers), to toys, to sporting goods (Glosta's own Palazzola's), to crafted furnishings, to clothing (whether unique design or vintage), to amazing bakeries & eateries (Passport's, Franklin Cafe, and Sugar Mag's in ONE block!) -- Main Street in Gloucester is a rare find.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_the_F00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Downtown Gloucester ~”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Downtown Gloucester is a nice place to take a walk and window shop. The restaurants are all good. Stores are more for tourists now, as opposed to what it used to be. Gloucester has lots of History.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank ColorMyWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seneca falls, ny
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So cute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

The street is VERY narrow and is a one way so be careful. We loved walking down looking at all the shops and dying to buy pretty much everything. We wanted to eat at a couple of places but I guess there was some kind water contamination. We did find a place opened called the hill top grill I think it was called. It had a bar attached and though on the expensive side the food was amazing! My mouth still waters thinking about those calms

Helpful?
Thank bailbondgrl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street also viewed

 

Been to Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing