We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Brunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alchemy - CLOSED

Alchemy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $28
Cuisines: American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 185 Main St.
Description: You should have no problem finding Alchemy. It is a great restaurant.
Boston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We enjoy going to Alchemy. The staff is friendly and attentive. The eggs florentine were excellent. It is an affordable, eclectic place to have pickies or a meal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CruiserBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    54
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Order carefully”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Alchemy started great because of the financial backer, and had good food, service, and portions. That started to fade after about 6 months. If you order, be VERY specific that you want the App first. WAIT until you get it, THEN order your entree, otherwise, you will get your App AND entree at the same time. Good menu though.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank k_inertia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

First went to Alchemy on a Groupon and quickly realized that it was my favorite place to eat on the North Shore. The food is crafted using local ingredients and always tastes fresh and delicious. The staff is always friendly and knowledgeable about the items they are serving. Great wine list and again - the staff is very knowledgeable and always makes a great wine suggestion based on what I tell them I'm in the mood for. Great bar with awesome bartenders too!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oddestfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Changing menus, changing staff make for a variable experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Everytime we find something we like, they yank it off the menu!! It is almost a cat and mouse game now. Will we find something we like this time? We are here often enough and I have to say we are increasingly disappointed. Lots of new service staff who seem to have no training and believe they are doing you a favor to return to your table. Once we came in a few minutes early with the front door propped open, and someone in the bar rudely yelled at us they weren't open yet. It's not priced as a cafeteria either, even if staff behaves that way. So you may have a great meal and a great time, or you may not. The consistency is gone even though the atmosphere is always warm.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went here for breakfast/lunch and the food was fantastic!!! Varied selection and was easy for everyone in our party of 10 to find something different to eat. Prices all over the place - from reasonable to WOW - but it was a great meal. Service was rather slow but we were in no hurry, so not really a problem.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jancie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alchemy also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing