We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place To Stay”
Review of Harborview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harborview Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Place To Stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great place. My wife and I stayed in the Essex room and it was very comfortable. John is a super nice guy and went out of his way to make us feel at home. Location is easy walking distance from Gloucester Harbor and all the shops and restaurants. Continental breakfast was quite good and John put it out early so we'd have time to go on the 8:00 AM whale watch. Wi-fi didn't work very well in our room but was fine when we went to the main room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iron-Mike-001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    23
    10
    1
    5
See reviews for
10
56
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Great house. John is a wonderful host. The breakfast is a very nice continental breakfast, if you must have a gourment breakfast crash made this is not the place. . The front porch overlooking the harbor is a spectacular bonus.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vtlukeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a great stay last October. We had a lovely apartment, John, our host was very helpful, he tried to get us on a whale watching ride.

The house is very old fashioned in a great way. Comfortable, clean and with this kind of romantic chic I always wanted to stay for a nigth. Our sleeping room was a room full of roses everywhere. And yes, it is a bit of shabby chic and I've loved it.

John made our stay unforgettable. Thank you John!
Greeting from Bavaria.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supersaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester England
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed with John in 2010 and had the most amazing stay, I wish we had spent longer there. Gloucester was a lovely town and our welcome was second to none.
I am sure we will visit again and hope that it will not be too far away.
The room was comfortable and the breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnomemother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Perfectly situated, very friendly staff, nice room with comfortable bed and a terrific view over the sea. The furnishing is not really in my favourite style, but it is all cost and it Is New England and everything else is superb - the breakfast included.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie_C777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

As B&B fans, my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our overnight at the Harborview. The sense of peace and friendliness you get when visiting a seaside town off season cannot be understated and Gloucester completely charmed us. The Harborview is perfectly situated to allow an easy walk to shops, restaurants and the beach. John, our host, is gracious and friendly, his B&B is comfortable, and the breakfast delicious. We had the added pleasure of enjoying the Christmas decorations on display in the parlor and dining room. If you are interested in getting to know true New England hospitality visit Gloucester and stay at the Harborview.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyandRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a night as we were travelling up the coast from Boston. I can only echo all the positive comments - great location (10 minutes walk to 7 Seas Whale Watching and restaurants), very friendly welcome, excellent breakfast, comfortable room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulR010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.9 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
191 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
0.5 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
175 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborview Inn

Property: Harborview Inn
Address: Stacey Boulevard - 71 Western Avenue, Gloucester, MA 01930
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harborview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Harborview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborview Inn Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing