We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So fun and beautiful!”
Review of 7 Seas Whale Watch

7 Seas Whale Watch
Ranked #1 of 31 Tours in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Trip Advisor's #1 of 26 Tours in Gloucester, 7 Seas Whale Watch has had the privilege of introducing thousands of passengers to the many species of whales and marine wildlife that inhabit the waters from Cape Ann and out to the Stellwagen Bank Marine Sanctuary. Our trips run from mid-April to mid-October and are designed to educate, inspire and provide a deeper understanding and appreciation of our fragile marine environment. We are a family business – Three generations of career captains have worked from this very dock for more than 7 decades. We have a love and respect for the marine environment and a passion for providing the best possible customer experience for you and your family. We look forward to seeing you on the water.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking
Reviewed October 19, 2016 via mobile

Apparently we were very fortunate to go on the day that we chose. It was unseasonably warm which may have led to the fact that there were so many whales to be seen!

The crew was very knowledgeable and kind. Our ship predominantly followed a group of four humpback whales as they were feeding. There may have been up to 20 humpback whales out there today! We even witnessed a breach! This is when a whale jumps out of the water and turns on its side and you get to see its tummy!

It was truly awesome to be so close to these magnificent mammals!!!

Thank you 7 Seas for a beautiful day!!

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Happiness624162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7seaswhalewatch, Owner at 7 Seas Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2016

Thank you for the great review! It sounds like you had a great day: Beautiful weather, feeding whales, breaching.... it's hard to ask for more than that! I'm happy that you got such a good trip and had such a good time.

We also very much appreciate that you took the time to write such a nice review here on TripAdvisor! Thank you!

Paul Frontierro
-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"whale watch"
in 349 reviews
"great trip"
in 99 reviews
"saw humpback whales"
in 32 reviews
"marine biologist"
in 27 reviews
"harbor seal"
in 19 reviews
"stellwagen bank"
in 31 reviews
"mother and calf"
in 28 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 40 reviews
"feeding grounds"
in 22 reviews
"sea sickness"
in 26 reviews
"morning trip"
in 18 reviews
"different species"
in 31 reviews
"staff was very friendly"
in 21 reviews
"great whale"
in 25 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 18 reviews
"top deck"
in 22 reviews
"white sided dolphins"
in 19 reviews
Filter

1,176 - 1,180 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2016

From the moment we booked our reservations we were very happy with our choice. This is a top notch operation, the staff is very helpful, friendly and organized. Luckily we had a beautiful day. On our way out of the harbor there was some great scenery and the entire trip was narrated by a marine scientist expert. We had to go out about 25 to 30 miles before we saw whales but once they were sighted it was worth it. We saw a Fin Whale and a mother and calf Humpback Whales. The whales stayed with us for about an hour and the calf would occasionally stick his or her pectoral fin out of the water like it was waving to us. The ship was very comfortable and everyone was afforded a nice view. Food and drink was available for purchase and the inside cabin had nice booths to sit in if it got too rough or cold. If you take this journey make sure you bring an extra jacket and a hat since the temperature goes down and wind picks up out there. If you want a seat on the upper deck make sure you get there early since these seats go fast and people are saving seats for others as they board. There is ample parking and there is a great restaurant next door for a meal before or after your trip. Ahoy and enjoy!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank mobyman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7seaswhalewatch, Owner at 7 Seas Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2016

Thank you mobyman! 25-30 miles is a long was to go (we usually go 12-15 miles out to see whales) but we will always go the extra distance if that's what it takes to get the best possible trip for our passengers. I'm glad that you had such a good time and I hope you come whale watching with us again soon!

Thanks again for the great review!

Paul Frontierro
-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

I went whale watching with my family in October and it was amazing. We had to travel out quite far to find whales, but when we did, WOW. We saw over 20 humpback whales and they were so beautiful. We saw another company out there and the boat was absolutely packed with people. I liked 7 Seas because there was room to move around and see the whales properly. The guide gave us lots of interesting information and the crew were so nice when one of my family members got a bit seasick. There was a well stocked snack bar on board so we could warm up with a hot drink on the way back. Wear lots of layers if you're going in the fall! I would highly recommend this company.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Erinn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7seaswhalewatch, Owner at 7 Seas Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2016

Thank you for the awesome review! We appreciate that you took the time to write it.

It sounds like you were lucky to be on a truly great whale watch and I'm glad that you and your family enjoyed it so much. Thanks again!

Paul Frontierro
-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2016

This was an amazing experience. The captain and crew were very knowledgeable and friendly. We went out about 25 miles to the feeding grounds and spotted 13 different whales. The captain kept us on the move as the whales dove and surfaced many times during our trip making for great photo opportunities. 7 Seas is the Best!
Thank you.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Suz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7seaswhalewatch, Owner at 7 Seas Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2016

Thank you for the wonderful review! We truly appreciate you sharing your experience whale watching with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm glad that you got to see so many whales and had such a good time!

Paul Frontierro
-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Great family trip in October on a clear but cool day. 3-4 foot waves were rocking the boat, but the crew made it clear before and during boarding to take measures against it. We had a long ride 90min, to find whales, but it was worth it. We saw 40 and most were very close to the ship. Crew made it educational and safe. They were always trying to help. I saw several of them check on an elederly man who didn't move well to insure he had a good view. My family highly recommend this trip. Also it was about 4 hours in total.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank wpk2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7seaswhalewatch, Owner at 7 Seas Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2016

Thank you for the great review, Wade, and especially for drawing attention to the good work done by our crew. I know they'll appreciate knowing that their efforts were noticed.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your trip with us\ and we hope to see you again soon!

Paul Frontierro
-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 7 Seas Whale Watch also viewed

 

Been to 7 Seas Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing