We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 7 Seas Whale Watch

7 Seas Whale Watch
Ranked #1 of 27 Tours in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Trip Advisor's #1 of 26 Tours in Gloucester, 7 Seas Whale Watch has had the privilege of introducing thousands of passengers to the many species of whales and marine wildlife that inhabit the waters from Cape Ann and out to the Stellwagen Bank Marine Sanctuary. Our trips run from mid-April to mid-October and are designed to educate, inspire and provide a deeper understanding and appreciation of our fragile marine environment. We are a family business – Three generations of career captains have worked from this very dock for more than 7 decades. We have a love and respect for the marine environment and a passion for providing the best possible customer experience for you and your family. We look forward to seeing you on the water.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Essex, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Georgeous sunny warm Sunday afternoon trip on 8/25. Crew was so informational and interacted with all the passengers. The whales were amazing . A must do if you are in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7seaswhalewatch, Manager at 7 Seas Whale Watch, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Hi Judith H,

Thanks for writing about your trip with us. I'm glad you had a good time. I hope you come back again. You have no excuse not to seeing as you're from Essex! I grew up in Essex, right by Chebacco Lake.

PS For those of you not familiar with the area, Essex boarders Gloucester (the western side) and is a great place to visit, eat fried clams, go hiking, ride trails on your mountain bike, shop for antiques, etc, etc. It's a great place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    51
    10
    5
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Whale Watching Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our second trip with 7 Seas Whale watch. We first chose this company because of their policy of not over crowding the boat. There is enough seating for all, and plenty of room to move around in. On this trip we seen 3 Humpback Whales, 2 Fin Whales, and 4 Minke Whales. They have a great marine biologist on board to explain all about the whales, and on the trip out and back they also share local history of the lighthouses and other historical places you will see on the way to Stellwagen Bank .

The boat is clean, the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable, and is lower to the water then the other boats so you feel closer to the whales. The Captain on both trips had this uncanny ability to know where the whales would pop up, which provided for some great photographs. This is also a very kid friendly boat as it is not huge, so they can be easily watched.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaPa_Photos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7seaswhalewatch, Manager at 7 Seas Whale Watch, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Hello MaPa,

Thank you for the awesome review. It sounds like you had a great trip with lots of whales.

While it was nice to hear about all the whales you saw, I especially appreciate you complimenting our crew, naturalist, boat, and captain. We can't control the whales (they are wild animals after all), but we can control the professionalism of our staff and crew, the quality of our customer service, and the way we maintain our boat. I am glad to hear you found all of those things worthy of 5 stars. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
252 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful day to take a cruise out to see the whales”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Took the early morning Cruise to beat the rush.. 8/23/13
Was not over crowded and the crew was very informational.
3rd time going on a whale watch (first two In Maine) they educated us about the area, the whales, and more. We where fortunate to see three different Whales,
1 Finback
1 Humpback
1 Minke
Wish we had went in the Afternoon Found out they Saw
2 Finbacks
1 Humpback
1 Minke
and 40+ Atlantic White Sided Dolphins
I thought after the fact afternoon trips might be better as previous sightings through the morning would give all an idea where to head..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Weevaluate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7seaswhalewatch, Manager at 7 Seas Whale Watch, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Hello Weevaluate,

Warning! This might be a long response because you brought up a really interesting topic!

Thanks for bringing it up, however, as I love to talk about whales and thanks for writing a review of your time with us.

You see, Weevaluate, your evaluation (sorry, I couldn't resist) of the morning vs afternoon sightings is pretty good. Of course knowing what was seen, and where it was seen, in the morning can help you decide where to go in the afternoon. In a lot of ways your....um....analysis was right on.

I do think it is important to note, however, that sightings are NOT always better in the afternoon. Indeed sightings are just as often superior in the morning as they are later in the day!

We have been in business for 32 years now. I have worked for 7 Seas for 22 of those years. I can honestly say that it is hard to to predict far into the future what time of day is most likely to produce the best sightings. The reality is..... (drum role)......

...it seems to ebb and flow like (and possibly with) the tide. It has been my observation that for a while (maybe a week or 10 days) the mornings will be better in terms of number of whales and amount of activity observed. Then it switches and for a similar period of time the afternoons will be better. Why this is no one knows for sure. I have a theory (and I know others would agree) that it may have to do with the tide. Whales seem to gather together and feed during "slack water." These are periods between tides when currents are relatively slow moving. As the the tides come about 50 minutes later each day, the time that slack water occurs gets later as well, thus shifting when the whales are most likely going to feed.

Now, to be clear, I am not saying that tidal shifts are solely responsible for when whales are going to be most abundant, concentrated, or active. I am sure that there are a myriad of factors that affect these things. But the tide does seem to play an important role.

I guess what I would want you (and other readers) to take away from this is that whale watching is a nature trip, and while we can make educated guesses as to why we see what we see, and when we see it, whale watching like all nature watching is inherently unpredictable. But that's part of what makes it so much fun! It is not scripted. The animals we see are not trained to perform tricks for a reward (like a frozen fish). They wild, endangered animals that are, in a very Zen sense, doing exactly what they are supposed to be doing.

Thank you again. Both for writing and for giving me a chance to talk about whales. I love it! I hope you will come out again and we can talk more in person!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

While visiting the Boston area from DC, our family drove up to Gloucester from Boston(42 min) to go whale watching with 7 Seas. We used our AAA membership and received $5.00 off each ticket. In addition to the whale watch you get a brief harbor tour. On our way up the Gulf of Maine we saw a lighthouse, castle, and much more. Keep in mind 7 Seas is dedicated to fulfilling the collective goal of viewing whales. This means the Captain may need to take us out as far as 30 miles up the coast. Our journey was 60 miles roundtrip and 5 hours long but more than worth it in our eyes! We saw 4 humpback whales, 3 minkes and a blue shark was sighted as well as a seal!

The boat was clean (even the bathrooms!) and it felt very spacious with around 100 people on board. The staff was exceptional! We were piloted by Captain Sebastian. He was clearly dedicated to giving us the best experience possible while still respecting the rules of the sea and the majestic creatures we were fortunate to get to witness. Naturalist Jodi was enthusiastic and extremely knowledgeable. She and the Captain worked in concert to ensure an amazing trip. She informed us where the whales were in relation to the ship and as promised everyone that wanted to see the whales got an opportunity to get an up close view regardless of location on the boat. The remaining crew members were Victoria (she came around with informative , hands-on materials); Tyler (he helped us find the ideal place to sit...first level, left-side, outside); and Carol the kind concessions personnel. Our kids enjoyed the pizza. There were also hotdogs and various snacks available.

Bear in mind we saw, backs, fins, and tails above the water. We could see their massive bodies submerged underwater. To some that may sound underwhelming, but to us it was awe-inspiring! To witness these large, graceful creatures first-hand is magnificent!

Remember to dress for weather 15 to 20 degrees below temperature on land. The water can be choppy; take precautions to avoid motion-sickness. ( I did not witness anyone sick on our excursion.) Move quickly if you want an inside table for the journey back after whale-watching. Bring entertainment for the trip up and back (books, cards, games). Enjoy, you are in good hands!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BlessedFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7seaswhalewatch, Manager at 7 Seas Whale Watch, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Hi Fab42013,

Thank you for the great review. You pointed out a lot of the things that I think makes whale watching from Gloucester great besides the whales (although I am glad you saw them too)!

Thanks again and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The whales, the dolphins! All so amazing. Comfortable ride out on the boat. Lots of places to sit, great little snack bar on board. Great staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank scubadonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7seaswhalewatch, Manager at 7 Seas Whale Watch, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Hi scubadonna,

Great review. Concise, yet thorough and very positive. Great pictures too! Ever seen a whale while diving?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 7 Seas Whale Watch also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to 7 Seas Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing