We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service was horrible ! Took one hour to get our food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franklin Cafe Cape Ann

Franklin Cafe Cape Ann
Ranked #11 of 137 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service was horrible ! Took one hour to get our food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Very loud place! Waitstaff was slow and didn't keep us informed that our meal wd take an hour to deliver . Sad . Food was good but would not return due to service

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    44
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
393 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Very good cod with galactic fast service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

N42°36.760' W70°39.794' Recommended as one of the best restaurants in Gloucester, this restaurant has a modern New American menu with daily fresh seafood and seasonal vegetables. Looking forward to enjoy their menu in August 2013, we entered a time warp of super-fast service. Ordering had to be done instantly before looking at the menu. The raw oysters as an entrée were excellent. Before the raw oysters were in our mouth, the cod dishes were on the table. Was the chef in a hurry? The cod dishes tasted excellent, with fine mushrooms, green asparagus and mash potatoes. Excellent. During this main course the bill was presented! We looked at our watches: we arrived 20 minutes ago! So we activated our ejector seats out of this galactic time warp and entered normal diner speed by keeping the cutlery in our hands and enjoying the excellent cod dish. We finished our diner with a nice cup of tea in very low and relaxed speed. Fine food has to be appreciated during diner, not afterwards.

If you want to enter the Guinness book of records for super-fast dining, Franklin Cape Ann is your choice. If you want to enjoy an excellent cod dish, put on the breaks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank goyourownway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful experience by the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I'm skeptical about writing this review, as i do not want the word to spread like wildfire how special this restaurant truly is. Great selection of super apps., I highly recommend the lobster flat bread, it's to die for and priced right. The entrees were perfectly prepared and fresh, fresh, fresh. We had two orders of the chefs special, which was monk fish with lobster risotto. My wife had the honey and lavender salmon with sweet potatoes... very yummy. And another in our party had the panned seared cod, also cook to perfection with potato hash and saffron. We all split a rich and decadent warm chocolate cake with ice cream...tremendous! The atmosphere was wonderful, although i imagine this is a very busy place in the summer and fall. our waitress was great, she never made us fell rushed. We actually dined, and not herded as is the case with many restaurants. The menu pricing was incredibly low for such a quality meal. We are already planning our next visit in a few weeks....Reservations are a must!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveScorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
“Amazing food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were visiting colleges in the Boston area and our hotel concierge recommended driving North to Gloucester for great seafood. When we arrived in Gloucester most of the restaurants were closed for the winter. I quickly checked Tripadvisor for recommendations and found Franklin Cafe Cape Ann. I am so glad we went in! The food, atmosphere and service were all exceptional! We started with the local beer "Fisherman's Brew". It was so refreshing! We then ordered the lobster dumplings that were a delicious surprise. My kids tried them also not knowing they were lobster meat (they don't eat anything from the ocean). They loved them! We ordered the cod & salmon dinners while the kids had the hanger steak, chicken Marsala and a burger. Everyone loved their meals. The French fries with the burger and steak were truffle fries and so delicious! Everyone enjoyed reaching for them! The Salmon was accompanied by sweat potatoes, yum, and the chicken was perfect. We can't say one bad thing about our meals. Also, our waitress was polite and attentive. I also feel the prices were great!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mgf96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amateur Night at The Franklin”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I and two friends ate there recently.. The service was very slow, even though there were few diners in the restaurant. It took forever to get our drinks. Three out of four of the entrees arrived cold and had to be sent back.

I think that mom and dad were on vacation and they left their children in charge.

The Franklin is usually very professionally run but I'm reluctant to return after this experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PigeonCove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin Cafe Cape Ann also viewed

 

Been to Franklin Cafe Cape Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing