We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIG”

George's Coffee Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BIG”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you want the largest serving on the North Shore!? This is where you come for breakfast or lunch! Don't be surprised if someone yells..."Norm". Lol

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tiggleypuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    31
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Georges Coffee Shop best in town”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Breakfast and Lunch and all delicious and all home cooking. Usually a wait, especially on any holiday. Opens at 5 a.m. Locals abound .
Very reasonably priced reasonable, very, very casual, and great for families and meeting up with friends.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank WingearsheekBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Pickup trucks and Mercedes”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

George's is a "can't miss it" in Gloucester. Breakfast, breakfast, breakfast. I know that they serve lunch, but I have never ordered lunch. The portions are gigantic, the quality is great, and the value is off the chart. Be alerted; you may have to wait for a table. Strictly NO reservations.

In the fall, try the pumpkin pancakes. The same staff runs the remodeled place, but if you have never been there, you won't have a clue that it has been remodeled. I am still getting used to the new look myself. If you come with a small appetite, bring a friend and share.

At George's, you will see singles and families; auto mechanics and fisherman; oceanfront property owners. It is the amazing diversity that is Gloucester. If you are looking for trendy and chic, try Boston. Did I mention that it is across the street from the city cemetery? True, but just a coincidence.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodeeda
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb Breakfast in a true locals spot !!!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The breakfast at George's was incredible, food quality was top notch, the staff deserve high praise for the great service and friendly style. We so enjoyed the experience. I would come back again and I highly recommend this wonderful hidden Neighborhood place !!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bodeeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“AMAZING for breakfast”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We absolutely LOVED George's. It's such a cute little place with seriously amazing breakfast. The prices are crazy low but the portions are huuuuge. None of us could finish our entire breakfast! The whole place feels very cozy and quaint, we loved it. Would love to come back here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaelalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Coffee Shop also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to George's Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing