We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's hard to beat Rocky Neck Accommodations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rocky Neck Accommodations
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Rocky Neck Accommodations apartments are perfect. Unpretentious, extremely clean, tastefully decorated, and supplied with thoughtful amenities. The beds are comfortable and outfitted with fresh, clean cotton bedding, and the bathrooms appointed with plenty of fresh cotton towels. For those who have chemical sensitivities it is a joy to find places like Rocky Neck Accommodations that stay away from harsh chemical air fresheners and highly perfumed laundry detergents.

Mona Faherty goes above and beyond the call of duty to accommodate her guests at Rocky Neck Accommodations. The place really feels like home away from home. And, the views from every window are, to say the least, picturesque. I've stayed here several times and return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room #3 has a wonderful view of the harbor and is cozy and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sannefisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at the Accommodations in May. We had the two apartments on the second floor, facing the water. The rooms are actually on a dock, out over the water.The view was awesome. The deck was nice to sit on and watch everything change as the tides came in and went out. The beds were very comfortable and the apartment had everything we needed. It is an old building, but that added to the feeling of staying on the water. We walked to galleries, shops, and restaurants. We loved looking at all the boats and walked to the shipyard at the end of the road. We loved walking around the community looking at the houses. We walked to an old paint factory where they made marine paint.
The main part of the town of Gloucester is a short, easy drive around the bay. The drive around Cape Ann was beautiful.
Everyone we met on Rocky Neck was friendly and nice. It is the oldest art colony in the country. The artists love to talk and make you feel more like a good friend than a potential customer.
We all wished we had planned more time for Rocky Neck.
We will definitely go back to Gloucester and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: If you can go upstairs, try to get the rooms on the end of the building, facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwensullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

For hospitality, jaw dropping natural beauty, harbor views, that special cape light and proximity to the art colony, Rocky Neck Accomodations is the best. My spouse and I rented the large efficiency apartment above the art and jewelry shop below. The unit was very comfortable with a deck to enjoy a drink with tapas or a meal. Only thing missing was enough working cutlery and cooking utensils but we made due.

We mingled with the local artists and art lovers. Had a 4 star meal at The Rudder down the street. Cooked and enjoyed memorable seafood dinners from local catch. By boat we toured Gloucester Harbor (saw a 6ft. tuna come into Connelly's Seafood) and town (cost $10 for the entire day with 5 stops including Rocky Neck). Ramona and her staff were wonderful, helpful, gave us great tips on shopping, beaches, bicycle rides and restaurant recommendations on all things Cape Ann. We will be back next summer! If Ramona will have us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NatCultJunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We found the Rocky Neck accomodations from the Lonely Planet guide. On arrival there was only one room left (late September) -the friendly owners showed us the room first and we were happy to take it. Freshly wihitewashed walls and room length windows looking straight out over the water made for a bright room and relaxing atmosphere. The exposed beams and simple furnishings added character and the kitchen kitted out with crockery etc gave us a rest from diner breakfasts. Each room has its own deck looking over the water - ours was upstairs rather than being directly off the room, which was not an issue and was a great place to sit in the sun.There are restaraunts on the Rocky Neck peninsula, however these were closed during the week when we stayed - we walked into town the first night, but discovered this was around 3 miles and about an hour's walk, so better taking the car! The area itself is full of quirky art galleries and we found the locals welcoming. I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marknkate76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Never been to Gloucester before, and since we enjoy art communities and wanted some peaceful surroundings for our vacation, we gave it a try. We spent a week at Rocky Neck Accommodations and were completely happy there. We had a full kitchen and very comfortable bed with nice large studio space and wonderful deck overlooking the bay. The room was clean and well stocked and the owners were very helpful. We absolutely would return there! Rocky Neck is a part of Gloucester that is more artsy and lower key than other parts of this area. There are two excellent restaurants in walking distance, but you need a car to drive to beaches in the area and to the larger section of town. Cape Ann is beautiful and there is lots to see and do if you like nature, beaches, and scenic drives and walks! Many beaches are private for residents and you will not be able to park there - though you can walk onto most beaches - some were for residents only -- depends on the beach and the time of day. This was a bit puzzling to us, but was still well worth the time spent there and we would go again!

Room Tip: Not every room has air conditioning - if you need more than lovely breezes off the bay to be comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NYCcouple50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.2 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
1.2 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#2 of 17 in Gloucester
96 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Castle Manor Inn
The Castle Manor Inn
#4 of 17 in Gloucester
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Neck Accommodations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Neck Accommodations

Address: 43 Rocky Neck Ave, Gloucester, MA 01930-4169
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Gloucester
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Rocky Neck Accommodations Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing