We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ales & Tales”

Cape Ann Foodie Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: there are many ways to experience Cape Ann, however none are as fun or as satisfying as our line of food and cultural tours. Choose from our premiere Taste Gloucester Food tour, Rockport Sights and Sweets, Newburport Food Tour and our new Ales and Tales pub tour.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Fun way to spend the evening while sampling great ales! We heard hair-raising stories of life at sea as well as very detailed information about the history of professional fishermen in Gloucester.

Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick h, Owner at Cape Ann Foodie Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thanks for your review! Ales and Tales is one of my favorite new tours this year, what a way to experience Gloucester. I am glad you got to try out Virgilio's as well...I am sure you weren't disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"food tour"
in 14 reviews
"clam chowder"
in 15 reviews
"cannoli"
in 8 reviews
"great tour"
in 13 reviews
"walking tour"
in 5 reviews
"food stops"
in 4 reviews
"some great food"
in 4 reviews
"topside grill"
in 4 reviews
"bacon wrapped scallop"
in 3 reviews
"chocolate turtle"
in 3 reviews
"st joseph"
in 3 reviews
"locally brewed beer"
in 3 reviews
"fish and chips"
in 7 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 6 reviews
"homemade chocolate"
in 2 reviews
"intimate knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"candy store"
in 2 reviews
Filter

87 - 91 of 133 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked the Taste Gloucester tour on a whim while visiting our son in Boston and had a wonderful time. Our guide, Cindy, was funny and informative as we stopped at various cafes and shops in town. Cindy told us about the history of Gloucester and some of its colorful citizens, and the food was great. The restaurant and shop owners were friendly. Our favorite tastes were the delectable clam chowder and scallop wrapped in bacon with a maple glaze (highlighted by a chat with Dennis the restaurant owner and his son), the Saint Joseph's sandwich, and the fish and chips and micro brews. The Cape Ann Olive Oil Company has wonderful oils and balsamic vinegars, and we purchased several bottles to take home. This experience made us want to visit Gloucester again when we return to the area. Highly recommended!

1  Thank CHF1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick h, Owner at Cape Ann Foodie Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thanks for your review! We are always happy to show off our hometown and share it with the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

What a fun way to explore Rockport! While walking around this quaint town our guide, Patrick, provided our group with a brief history of town. Of course, sampling sweet treats such as fudge, strudel and salt water taffy along the way made the walk even more enjoyable. I look forward to another tour in the future.

Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick h, Owner at Cape Ann Foodie Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thanks! Rockport is such a unique place and I am glad you could have joined me on such a beautiful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was such a great tour! Our guide, Patrick, was knowledgeable and fun and made this tour enjoyable even for my eight year old in tow. The food we sampled was delicious and the historical facts interesting. I highly recommend this tour!

Thank 3Nikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Rockport is a beautiful town and getting to explore it while eating dinner dessert was perfect! Patrick was a wonderful tour guide and knew the area well. Not only did we eat taffy and fudge and gelato but Patrick also showed us some of the sights.
Definalty a must do

We will be doing some of the other tours.

Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Ann Foodie Tours also viewed

 

Been to Cape Ann Foodie Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing