We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh is Best”
Review of Ohana - CLOSED

Ohana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $29
Cuisines: American, Asian, Hawaiian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in historic Gloucester, MA, home to America's original seaport and the oldest art colony in North America, Ohana offers New American cuisine with a menu influenced by French techniques, Italian flavors, & Asian spices. We use only the highest quality ingredients featuring locally sourced fish, meat, produce, and artisanal foods
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our party ate at Ohana on Mothers' Day. The restaurant was modestly populated with no pre-set meals. Ohana does have regular 3-course menu items with wine pairings and two of our party ordered these. My three courses consisted of bacon-wrapped calamari, Lamb Shank and a warm molten chocolate tort with ice cream. The calamari was a small, whole squid that was a touch chewy but still very good. My mother used to make whole squid but would cook it all day in sauce to get it tender, so it is not an easy task. Gave the squid a B. The Chilean wine pairing was excellent. not a big Chilean fan but the selection was very good. The Lamb was pull off the bone, moist and delicious. It was also a good portion so very happy with this selection. Again, not a fan of Australian red wines but this pairing was also excellent. The chocolate tort with a port was a perfect finish.

Everybody in our party were raving about the freshness of all of the ingredients. One in our party is a vegetarian and a special meal was prepared...no problem. Service was very attentive and the atmosphere is average. Go for the unique dishes, presentations and fresh ingredients. If you're looking for Gloucester lobster overlooking the ocean, this is not the right place for you.

We make a few trips to Gloucester every year and will be making a return trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ebimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write.

We certainly are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal and look forward to serving you again. As noted, we take pride in accommodating all food preferences.

Mahalo,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 87 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is the "top" of the scale in terms of quality, choice and prices, but excellent food. Service could be warmer and friendlier....wife/owner a bit cold!!! Chef/husband is outstanding.

Thank Loretta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Loretta,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write. We are thrilled that you think so highly of us. Please be assured that we welcome all comments and are continually working to ensure an excellent dining experience.

We look forward to serving you.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife and I had a fantastic meal at Ohana a few months ago. Everything from the warm bread to the appetizers, and on to the main course was creative, delicious, and beautifully presented! I didn't care all that much for the decor, but you don't eat the walls! The food more than made up for that. This restaurant is now on our "go to" list! A real gem!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gymrat375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Nice to read that you like the restaurant and that you enjoyed the food and presentation Thank you for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor, We really appreciate your effort.

We look forward to serving you again

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had a lovely evening at Ohana, along with another couple. Our reservation was for 5:30 p.m. and when we arrived we were seated promptly and with kindness. We liked the seating in the back of the house because it was somewhat quieter (the bar is at the front). The wait staff were efficient and kind, but I would say that they need some additional training pertaining to the menu. Many diners do not know terms like 'bolognese', 'papardelle', 'bechamel', 'ragout' or 'remoulade. Perhaps a dining vocabulary could be incorporated on the menu. I have experienced that, in many other restaurants, and it is a welcome addition for the diners.

Our dinners were beautiful for the eyes, and each one had delectable and delicate flavors. My husband will not eat spinach at home but he devoured the spinach that accompanied his filet of beef (which he l-o-v-e-d by the way). I had lobster over a delicate risotto which was just perfectly cooked and aromatic. The lobster was not stringy or tough, and partnered beautifully with the risotto. Other guests with us enjoyed a veal dish which was reported to be delicious, and a pasta with Bolognese which was reported to be a bit on the spicy side but flavorful all the same.
Ohana is a restaurant for a special event or celebration. Perhaps they have luncheon specials but, for us, this restaurant was priced for a special dining occasion. We look forward to returning to Ohana and we congratulate the chef and his staff for a lovely night out on a cold, rainy evening in Gloucester. All the best for continued fine dining!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank V&PBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thanks for writing and sharing your experience in our restaurant. It is nice to read that you had a wonderful evening.

We liked your comment concerning the vocabulary and now have a glossary explaining many of the terms used. Also, we do have a nice lunch menu which is very creative at great value.

We look forward to serving you again. If there is anything we can do for you, please let us know.

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Having been to Ohana numerous times, we thought it was time we placed a review. Pluses: THE FOOD. There's nothing like this anywhere within 35 miles (distance to Boston). The drinks at the bar are very good also. Minuses: the table service continues to be average to poor. They desperately need professional help here. The prices are not cheap (entrees avg. in the high twenties), but the service is not commensurate. If they hope to survive the off-season, they need to step it up. Last week, it galled me to be told as we asked for dessert menus that a soufflé was available, but would take 20+ minutes. And why were we not told when we ordered our entrée? And this was from the co-owner who served us! Great food and poor service will not servive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NuclearDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your patronage. We sincerely appreciate that you like the food and drinks.

We apologize for any inconvenience concerning the service. As one who appreciates fine food, you know that there is significant preparation that goes into all dishes, especially the chocolate souffle. That is why the menu says that it should be ordered with the meal so that the kitchen may schedule the courses to arrive in a timely manner. The servers do try to remind patrons of the souffle's preparation time and we are sorry if that was not made clear to you.

If time is ever an issue, we have many fine desserts which can be served in a shorter amount of time.

Thank you for writing and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ohana also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing