We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second (and hopefully not our last) visit...”
Review of Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vista Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I agree with the other reviewers in their characterization of this property. It is very clean, but could use some remodeling. The ceiling tiles in our room were sagging in places and looked as if someone had unsuccessfully attempted to fix them. The carpet had some sun damage, and some of the tile, grout, etc. was showing wear. Nevertheless, it felt very clean. The rooms are very spacious, and the light-blocking drapes work pretty well. It was nice and quiet, and the beds were pretty comfortable. The pool is great, as is the customer service. I love the location, and found the walk to the beach to be quick and charming. We took advantage of the discounted beach parking passes to visit another Gloucester beach. The breakfast is a bit carb-heavy, but the donuts are some of the best I have ever had! The other guests were predominantly European on this particular trip. We will definitely return! Great value.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank jschantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 416 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2010

My wife and I came to spend our anniversary here and we ended up extending our stay and turning it into a family vacation. You can tell that the owners' expectations are high--every staff member gave personalized service with a smile and truly every aspect of our stay was well-looked after. It's a short drive to great dinner and social spots and beaches--you almost don't need to get in the car though, so many things are walkable distance. We also encountered so many friendly guests who all seemed to say they'd been coming here for years. Essentially we easily decided to make the Vista home to our annual summer visit to Gloucester!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FusileerRFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This is an older motel (50s or 60s) but it is immaculate. There's no sign of wear. everything works and the showers are great (Oxygenics). Rooms have a view of the ocean and when you call for a reservation you are given a choice of views. An obstructed view is a bit cheaper. An unobstructed view was $120 a night and included a continental breakfast. the desk staff was cheerful and helpful. Location is great. 5 minutes from everywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGLNorthernNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Vista Motel for two nights. The staff/owners gave us excellent service. The room was clean and what a view, we made coffee in the morning and enjoyed it outside on the balcony. Quiet and very comfortable would love to bring the kids in the summer. The beach is right there and the kids would love the outside pool.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rejsesyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

2nd year in a row we stayed here, beautiful view, FAST WIFI, clean, comfortable, quiet room. everything needed for an extended stay, even silverware! I grew up in Gloucester and always noticed the Vista as being there but never realized it was such a "Hidden Jewel"!
Now when I get home to visit, I make it a point to stay here. EXCELLENT! A little pricey but hey...it's Gloucester!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robsarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

This is the third time I have stayed at the Vista and look foreword to my next visit. The first two times were on over night trips with my daughter, once in the summer and once in Oct. to go to the Hammond Haunted Castle for Halloween. This time it was Valentine's weekend with my girlfriend. Even if I tried I could not find a negative thing to say about the hotel or the staff. The first time I stayed there I was coming back from Maine after a few days if white water rafting with my daughter. We had a few more days to kill and decided to do it in the North Shore area after stopping at several hotels and being quoted outrageous rates or seeing a no vacancy sign we half heartedly stopped at the Vista. We were warmly greeted and quoted a reasonable rate. The stay there was perfect and in conversation with other guests by the pool or at the continental breakfast all felt the same and at least two people I had conversations with where repeat customers.
Make your reservations now!!! :-) You will come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theswmpoolguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

This review is actually for Oct. 2009. We had reservations at another nice hotel in Gloucester. When we arrived the "computer had lost our reservations." That hotel had a wedding party coming in and didn't want our business. They were not helpful in finding us other acomodations for 2 nights. After searching at other very helpful seaside inns that had no availability they hooked us up with the Vista. We cannot say enough about the Vista's staff, the beautiful view and grounds, the location to the beach and the updated, very clean rooms. The prices were better than the origional place we had planned to stay and the attitude, other guests who were repeat visitors from the US, England and Australia were all pleased and welcoming to new guests. The owner and desk manager bent over backwards to make our stay pleasant, and it certainly was. If you want local advice about where to visit, where to eat, or if you want to walk over to the beach or just rest in your room with a beautiful view of the ocean this is the place. The pool was closed of course but the area was clean, nrely painted and made us with we were visiting in July. All four adults in our party will recommend this older motel that is reminiscent of the motels on Route 66 before hotels were available. It was like going back in time to the beach at a clean and personal motel where people really cared about making sure you were completely happy with your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kikiMaryaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.5 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
258 reviews
1 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
1 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
552 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
181 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Castle Manor Inn
The Castle Manor Inn
#4 of 17 in Gloucester
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Address: 22 Thatcher Rd, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930-3196
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: $117 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vista Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a high knoll overlooking beautiful Good Harbor Beach, the Vista Motel is your Gloucester, Massachusetts getaway. We offer Standard, Deluxe and Efficiency rooms all with gorgeous ocean views, DirecTV with HBO, individual air conditioning, and mini fridge/microwave and coffeemaker. Additionally there is an outdoor heated swimming pool, free WiFi along with free local and long-distance phone calls. Also complimentary is a lovely continental breakfast, ice for you cooler and the USA Today. And, the Vista has the most friendly staff on Cape Ann! See for yourself and you, too, will become a Vista regular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Gloucester
Vista Motel Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing