We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the View!”
Review of Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vista Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Philly
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the View!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed for two evenings and both nights I really enjoyed sitting outside while looking at the beach. It was a welcomed break from the stress! I know some people don't care for the decor, but I couldn't care less. As long as the room is clean(which my room was), then I'm happy. My stay exceeded my expectations and I have every intention of returning.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank SuperJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    139
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
139
160
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Pros: price, cleanliness, close to beach, heated pool, balcony
Cons: outdated rooms, bathrooms a bit small
All in all, the accommodations sufficed for the price. Room had 50's decor but was big enough for 2 adults and 2 children.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drew6624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

had a very comfortable two night stay, the room had obviouslty been recently redecorated and updated all bar the shower/bath to a very tasteful and spotlessly clean standard. the rooms are a really good design with front and back doors, outside seating and very spacious. excellent outside lighting and security features for the car park.Great new breakfast room serving a really nice continental breakfast and lovely outdoor swimming pool ! the staff were extrememly friendly and very helpful, this is in a great location with lovely ocean view and is ideal for either gloucester or rockport, we will certainly use this motel again when around the boston area

Room Tip: worth paying extra for the fist floor balcony and car port rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Rooms are reasonably priced, especially off season. The continental breakfast was first rate, the outdoor seating lovely. The pool was beautiful and well maintained, the rooms were extremely clean. The efficiency room with a view overlooking Good Harbor was lovely. Would recommend highly! We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llamafocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just spent an end-of-summer holiday weekend at the Vista, Our family has for the past 5 years and we keep returning because it's clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. And the view of good harbor beach and the salt marshes from our patio was breath-taking ! The staff is very accommodating and the motel is dog friendly. The breakfasts aren't anything special but very practical choices. The breakfast area was noticably refurbished, the pool small but clean. Parking's tight. All-in-all we'll keep returning and would recommend. Ken L.

Room Tip: Lower level studios with patio terrific if you have a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Lovely continental breakfast, attentive staff, and large, clean rooms with a lovely view - all at a reasonable price. My elderly mom found the handicapped-accessible room especially comfortable. She sat on the patio and read, enjoying the ocean breezes and the view of the pool when we were off doing something a little too active for her (whale watching - and if you stay here, 7 Seas will give you $5 off). We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revrenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The most positive attribute: The continental breakfast. It was well-stocked and kept that way with good coffee and a complimentary newspaper. One of the best free breakfast spreads of any motel I have experienced.

The most negative attribute: The television's default is locked at PG-14. They have HBO but you can't watch it unless it is rated as appropriate for a 14-year old. You can get a code at the office that will unlock that parental control but they don't volunteer it when you check-in. So if you fail to ask or if the office is closed when you want to watch television, you better like cartoons.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David6061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
389 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
203 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
2.1 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
176 reviews
4.1 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#3 of 6 in Rockport
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Property: Vista Motel
Address: 22 Thatcher Rd, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930-3196
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vista Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a high knoll overlooking beautiful Good Harbor Beach, the Vista Motel is your Gloucester, Massachusetts getaway. We offer Standard, Deluxe and Efficiency rooms all with gorgeous ocean views, DirecTV with HBO, individual air conditioning, and mini fridge/microwave and coffeemaker. Additionally there is an outdoor heated swimming pool, free WiFi along with free local and long-distance phone calls. Also complimentary is a lovely continental breakfast, ice for you cooler and the USA Today. And, the Vista has the most friendly staff on Cape Ann! See for yourself and you, too, will become a Vista regular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Gloucester
Vista Motel Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing