We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!”
Review of Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vista Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We just got back from a wonderful stay at the Vista. The reviews were all glowing so we thought we'd take a chance on this charming motel rather than staying at a more impersonal hotel chain. Our room was in the older part which made it very affordable and staying there reminded us of being at a seaside cottage. We could see the ocean perfectly from our picture window, as well as have our coffee and read on the patio. We watched the surfers at dawn and at dusk, as well as walked along the beach before heading into town for delicious,fresh seafood dinners.

Priscilla at the desk was friendly and most helpful in her suggestions on where to go exploring and the drive along the shoreline along Highway 127 into Salem for our visit to the Peabody Essex Museum was lovely. At times the views reminded us of the Maine coastline and some county roads in England. It took us less than 30 minutes to get to Salem and we avoided the heavier traffic that we encountered driving into Gloucester.

A continental breakfast of fruit, cereals and freshly baked goodies with a good assortment of coffee and teas is included. The other residents at the Vista were quiet so we didn't have to deal with loud visitors or doors being slammed at all hours.We can't wait to return to the Vista for another visit and the chance to explore more of the Cape Ann area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Canadians_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    139
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
138
157
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, CT
Level Contributor
924 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Our room was in the oldest section of the motel that apparently has not been remodeled in several years. Our air conditioner was completely useless so we had to open the windows and doors each evening to cool off the room before going to sleep. In addition, the bathroom faucet leaked continuously. The included continental breakfast was fine and the owner/hostess was a peach. Should we return, I would pay the additional price to upgrade to a nicer section of the motel.

Room Tip: Avoid the cheaper units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

It’s not a surprise that for a local establishment without corporate backing or franchising to remain economically viable, a few things need to happen: a) the establishment is nestled ideally in a place with heavy seasonal traffic, b)the establishment must have proprietors and employees who in fact, go above and beyond the requisite extent of customer service offered by the majority of chains, and c)the establishment must have some type of charm or draw. The Vista Motel met all of these criteria with flying colors, and in depth:

Location: 5 out of 5
The Vista Motel is located on a hill overlooking Good Harbor Beach. The view is great, and parking is free. In close proximity is a shopping center that contains a grocery store, perfect for if you are staying in one of the Vista’s rooms that comes with kitchen amenities. The location is also convenient to “downtown” Gloucester, should you be taking part in whale watching, or just patronizing the local restaurants.

Cleanliness of Room: 5 out of 5
Seemingly, the staff at the Vista take great pride in offering their customers very clean rooms. Although not the newest by any stretch of the imagination, everything was cleaned very thoroughly, and it was clear (at least to me), that they employ such secrets such as Barkeeper’s Friend, because some items that typically experience fading and discoloration were well…quite new looking.

Amenities of Room and Motel: 4 out of 5
This is a local establishment, not the Four Seasons. There is no room service, there is no spa, there are no boutique toiletries. The soap and shampoo they provide is fine. You’d find them in a place like Comfort Suites or Days Inn. The breakfast room is attached to the main building, and they serve cereal, donuts, and variations of bread. We were actually upgraded to an efficiency that had a coffee maker, microwave, small fridge, and even two stove eyes, replete with some pots, pans, and utensils. I suppose if you are in the area for a week , and want to go to the grocery store to get items for a boil, the stuff they provide could adequately meet the requirements of said task. As I only stayed for one night, I wasn’t able to take advantage of any of that. Some rooms have balconies, some rooms have only a little patio area. Our balcony room overlooked the bay and was right above the heated pool. It was very relaxing to watch the sun set, and then the sun rise, from the balcony. Speaking of the heated pool, the hours are adequate (8am to dark) if you’d prefer to swim in chlorinated water as opposed to bay water.

Cancellation Policy/Reservation Policy: 4 out of 5
For a local establishment, it’s fairly generous. If you don’t give them one week’s notice, they charge you 25 dollars. Sure, it’s not as generous as most hotel chains where you can cancel the day before without any penalty – but you have to understand that part of surviving in a market like this with an establishment like the Vista is unfortunately – making sure that your bottom line allows you to stay buoyant over the winter months. If you give them more than one week’s notice, I think it’s a 6.50 charge. The reservation process is old school. You call and talk to a live person. Her name is Priscilla. She is genuinely nice, but also seems to be very no-nonsense. You can drop her name at the Seven Seas Whale Watching place, and they will give you 5 dollars off (though I myself did not take that tour).

Pricing: 4 out of 5
D’oh. Probably my least favorite of what I encountered. I can’t complain too much because in checking out all of the local motels in the immediate area and in the Portland, Maine area – the prices seemed to be similar. We went in August of 2011 and the price for the room that we had originally reserved was 135 an evening (partially obstructed standard room). Upon checking in, Priscilla took a look at the rooms that were available, and gave us an upgrade to a second floor efficiency, which usually sells for 185$ an evening. I mean – there are practical reasons for doing this; for example, if a walk-up wanted a room and could only pay under $150, selling the standard room would be much easier than one of the more expensive rooms. So yes, they may lose 50 dollars on the larger room, but if they can recoup 135, they still come out ahead. However, I still thought it was nice that we were upgraded at no additional cost to us. Therefore, still a 4 out of 5 in this category.

Customer Service: 4 out of 5
Priscilla was very straightforward and easy to work with. She explained the policies of the motel very clearly, and gave us tips for checking out the area. It was great that she gave us the upgrade to the efficiency from the standard room, and it was nice to see her having breakfast the next morning in the dining room, along with everyone else.

Overall: 4 out of 5
Excellent stay at the Vista Motel. Highly recommended in the Gloucester area, and I wish them all the best!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wch759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This motel was perfect for what I needed and was very reasonably priced. This seems like a family run property and everyone was very friendly and very helpful. The rooms were nice, although a bit old and outdated, they were clean and well taken care off. The extra ammenities such as a microwave and refrige in the room, heated pool, wi-fi, and continental breakfast added to the benefit of this property. This would definitely be my first choice if I was to visit Gloucester again, and I will be sure to recommend this motel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy8041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We had a delightful weekend at the VIsta Motel with our family. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and boasted a beautiful view of Good Harbor Beach. We stayed in an efficiency, with small cooktop, microwave and fridge. Enjoyed a cup of coffee and some baked goods from the included continental breakfast on our patio every morning. Definitely try the blueberry coffee cake! My daughters enjoyed the small and spotless pool even after spending the day on the spectacular Good Harbor Beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alimo711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The rooms and staff were very nice. The pool and view were spectacular.We will go back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BILL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed on two beautiful days following Hurricane Irene and spent little time in the room, which was on the 2nd level. The room was immaculate, but dark (wood paneled), with two comfortable double beds.

Showers were a problem with hot water arriving just as you toweled off.

The view was great during the day but at night there were lights galore and over our nice porch. We like fresh air and with the slider open direct light keeps you awake and ruins the view.

The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast baked goods were tasty. If you have the discipline there is fruit and cereal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gastongray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
383 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
193 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
2.1 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
175 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Property: Vista Motel
Address: 22 Thatcher Rd, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930-3196
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vista Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a high knoll overlooking beautiful Good Harbor Beach, the Vista Motel is your Gloucester, Massachusetts getaway. We offer Standard, Deluxe and Efficiency rooms all with gorgeous ocean views, DirecTV with HBO, individual air conditioning, and mini fridge/microwave and coffeemaker. Additionally there is an outdoor heated swimming pool, free WiFi along with free local and long-distance phone calls. Also complimentary is a lovely continental breakfast, ice for you cooler and the USA Today. And, the Vista has the most friendly staff on Cape Ann! See for yourself and you, too, will become a Vista regular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Gloucester
Vista Motel Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing