We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect motel for my stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vista Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect motel for my stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This motel was perfect for what I needed and was very reasonably priced. This seems like a family run property and everyone was very friendly and very helpful. The rooms were nice, although a bit old and outdated, they were clean and well taken care off. The extra ammenities such as a microwave and refrige in the room, heated pool, wi-fi, and continental breakfast added to the benefit of this property. This would definitely be my first choice if I was to visit Gloucester again, and I will be sure to recommend this motel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy8041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    137
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
131
156
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We had a delightful weekend at the VIsta Motel with our family. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and boasted a beautiful view of Good Harbor Beach. We stayed in an efficiency, with small cooktop, microwave and fridge. Enjoyed a cup of coffee and some baked goods from the included continental breakfast on our patio every morning. Definitely try the blueberry coffee cake! My daughters enjoyed the small and spotless pool even after spending the day on the spectacular Good Harbor Beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alimo711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

The rooms and staff were very nice. The pool and view were spectacular.We will go back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BILL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed on two beautiful days following Hurricane Irene and spent little time in the room, which was on the 2nd level. The room was immaculate, but dark (wood paneled), with two comfortable double beds.

Showers were a problem with hot water arriving just as you toweled off.

The view was great during the day but at night there were lights galore and over our nice porch. We like fresh air and with the slider open direct light keeps you awake and ruins the view.

The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast baked goods were tasty. If you have the discipline there is fruit and cereal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gastongray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was my first time staying at the Vista Motel and enjoyed it very much. As I brought 4 grandkids with me it was the perfect place for a family getaway. I rented a delux room with 2 queen beds and was spacious enough to even add a rollaway cart. Came with a small fridge and microwave. Room was spotless with plenty of towels and although a little outdated we still enjoyed our stay here. We had a nice little balcony where you could look out to Good Harbour Beach. One of the staff (Priscilla )couldn't do enough to make your stay enjoyable. She went out of her way to help you with any and all questions you had and always with a smile on her face. Thanks Priscilla-we appreciated your help:). We also had a free continental breakfast with fresh fruit, cereal, coffee etc. The outdoor pool was also spotless. Would return next year with the family!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Excellent choice. Family of 5 in their larger deluxe room. (they also have efficiency rooms with full kitchens). Very clean. All staff, from the electrician to the front desk personal were extremely friendly and helpful. Excellent view. Excellent pool. Excellent value. Excellent choice for accommodations. Can not say enough for this place!

Room Tip: Have only stayed in the deluxe room with the view of Good Harbor Beach - excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdefilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellus, New York
Level Contributor
199 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We just got back from a long weekend on Cape Ann, having stayed in a few different hotels/motels. This was far and away our favorite, and the only one of the three we'd return to, honestly. If only the weather had cooperated, it would have been perfect!

The entire motel was extremely well-kept, from landscaping to walkways to the interior and exterior of the buildings themselves. We stayed in a very clean, spacious room with two queen beds, on the second floor with its own carport underneath. The carport was wonderful to have as the weather was pretty awful during our visit. We were able to load and unload the vehicle without getting soaked.

The room itself was, as others have noted, dated - it had wood paneling, green carpet and a very retro restroom. However, it was absolutely spotless - very well-kept and not at all rundown despite its obvious age. The pool area was very well-kept and the pool was quite warm (our kids enjoyed it in the rain, determined little things that they are. Breakfast, while a bit spartan, was served in a very clean room with what would have been great outdoor seating if not for the rain. One big bonus were the board games available for guests to use. They were located in the breakfast room and on our rainy day "beach day" those things were an absolute lifesaver!

The location was absolutely ideal (if only the weather had cooperated). We did manage to return to nearby Good Harbor Beach later in our visit to the area and would highly recommend it as well. Being able to walk there from this motel would have been ideal. I was VERY impressed that the offer was made to allow us to leave our vehicle on check-out day (not in the carport, but in an open space) if we wanted to enjoy the beach and/or pool for the day. How many places do that?!

I cannot recommend this motel highly enough. We were happy with every single aspect of our visit (except, of course, the weather!).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GracieCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.1 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
#4 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.8 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#2 of 17 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Property: Vista Motel
Address: 22 Thatcher Rd, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930-3196
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vista Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a high knoll overlooking beautiful Good Harbor Beach, the Vista Motel is your Gloucester, Massachusetts getaway. We offer Standard, Deluxe and Efficiency rooms all with gorgeous ocean views, DirecTV with HBO, individual air conditioning, and mini fridge/microwave and coffeemaker. Additionally there is an outdoor heated swimming pool, free WiFi along with free local and long-distance phone calls. Also complimentary is a lovely continental breakfast, ice for you cooler and the USA Today. And, the Vista has the most friendly staff on Cape Ann! See for yourself and you, too, will become a Vista regular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Gloucester
Vista Motel Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing