We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great place to stay!”
Review of Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vista Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a great place to stay!”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed here last year during Fiesta and decided to stay again. The Vista is always consistent, clean and comfortable. Love the balcony overlooking Good Harbor Beach and the pool. This was the first time we used the pool and the water was delightfully warm.
Can't wait to stay again next year!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nasst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    142
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
141
162
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The staff were wonderful and offered me an upgrade as soon as I entered the office. The rooms were spacious, the views beautiful, the decor tasteful and so many towels!!! Not to mention there are two big shops for food swim needs for the beach and a store to buy wine... its all there within a 5 minute walk.. SO EASYI intend to visit again with my sons to swim in the pool and relax once more. I think this motel is great, 10 out of 10!!
Melanie sawyer, a seasoned traveler,
Brooklyn, New York

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MelanieSawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a great place to stay to visit Cape Ann. The view is wonderful. The rooms are clean and having a small kichenette is nice. The people are very helpful. The only negative for some folks may be that this is an older motel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwoodRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concord, NH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The Vista Motel appears to be an amazingly well preserved time capsule from the 50s, and it is just that... in all the right ways. The motel is perched up on a knoll with a spectacular ocean and coastal views across a two lane road. The staff gave us such a nice welcome... what a great way to be greeted. We found the staff to be amazingly interested in finding out exactly what we wanted, and then enthusiastic about making sure to meet our every need. Without being asked, they gave us keys to three different rooms so we could have a look and choose for ourselves. We were only booked for one night and were in the area for an event. We thought all we wanted was a bed and our accommodations wouldn't much matter. We were so pleased by our stay at the Vista it turned out to be the best part of the weekend. Without going into details, let me say that the staff were the nicest, most accommodating, pleasant, helpful people I've had the pleasure to meet in a very long time. The room was quite large and had a little kitchenette fully stocked with dishes, beds, a table and comfortable chairs, a verandah overlooking the ocean and beautiful coastline village, full bath. The room, dishes, bathroom, was immaculate high and low. I have not stayed in a five star hotel that could compare with the cleanliness of the Vista. The grounds are lovely and so well kept. It's quiet and serene, especially at night; the managers are right on site and let us know they were available at any hour if needed. From the first phone call to make a reservation to our final good-bye, they were outgoing and great. The continental breakfast was lovely, too, with a fine selection of home baked goodies. Comfy beds, retro decorating, but new and clean carpeting, towels, and not a speck of dust anywhere. Parking right outside our room, no restaurant, but restaurants of all kinds near. I was so thrilled with our experience at the Vista I have to dig pretty deep to think about something I didn't like. Hmmmm... I guess I'd say the only thing I did not like is that the drivers in the area do not seem very cautious of pedestrians, so if you are walking to the beach, be alert. It is a great place for oceanside walks once you go the scant 1/4 mile to the entrance to the beach. The Vista is in a very convenient location, near grocery and other shopping, restaurants, the beach, etc, but no need to leave the beautiful pool and one's own private porch to have a good time. It was also amazingly economical and the best value for the $$ that I've experienced at any level hotel. So, if you want to experience a slice of retro heaven, especially the kind of people who I thought only exist in nostalgic dreams, go to the Vista and see how sweet a little motel can be.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nhpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

There are many reasons to love this place - great location and view; extremely friendly and helpful staff; beautiful grounds; terrific value. And Cape Ann is a wonderful place to vacation. The rooms are large, but they've hardly been touched since the day they were built - I would guess in the late 50's. Our room featured faux-wood paneled walls, old, turquoise bath fixtures and decor remeniscent of a summer camp. But everything was immaculate - just dated. If this doesn't bother you you're sure to have a great time - and you'll have $$ left in your pocket to eat lobster every night.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakes & mts, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Immaculate, comfortable fully equipped simple efficiency.

Absolute best ocean view of Good Harbor Beach & beyond.
(former native of Gloucester!)

TRULY WONDERFULL handicapped/wheelchair accessability!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Excellent wheelchair accessability!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gr8fulheart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Spacious room, spotless and what a view! Pink bathroom was dated but so clean we didn't mind. Would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hafgrape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
393 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
531 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Lion Motel
Sea Lion Motel
#5 of 7 in Gloucester
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Property: Vista Motel
Address: 22 Thatcher Rd, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930-3196
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vista Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a high knoll overlooking beautiful Good Harbor Beach, the Vista Motel is your Gloucester, Massachusetts getaway. We offer Standard, Deluxe and Efficiency rooms all with gorgeous ocean views, DirecTV with HBO, individual air conditioning, and mini fridge/microwave and coffeemaker. Additionally there is an outdoor heated swimming pool, free WiFi along with free local and long-distance phone calls. Also complimentary is a lovely continental breakfast, ice for you cooler and the USA Today. And, the Vista has the most friendly staff on Cape Ann! See for yourself and you, too, will become a Vista regular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Gloucester
Vista Motel Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing