We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family wedding weekend”
Review of Sea Lion Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Lion Motel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Oneida, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family wedding weekend”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A large group of family members stayed here for a family wedding in Gloucester. There were rooms to meet every need: some just basic, some efficiency rooms, one building with deluxe suites. We were all accommodated to suit our individual circumstances. The rooms were kept to a high standard of cleanliness. Our efficiency was in building B. The kitchen was nicely equipped with a full-size refrigerator, stove, microwave, toaster, coffee maker. Just bring your coffee & filters and a few groceries and you are set. The office also has coffee, donuts and muffins available in the morning. The office staff and housekeeping staff are helpful and attentive. Irons and mini ironing boards are available in the office as well. Our unit also had the handicap-accessible bathroom. The shower has no ledge to step over and there is a nice sturdy built-in shower bench. The only complaint I had (if you can even call it that) was that our pillows were hard and uncomfortable. So if you are fussy about your pillows, bring your own. The arrangement of the property makes it easy for family groups to get together, with picnic tables and nice grill available right in the courtyard near the pool. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    38
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
29
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night in a king room. The room was large as was the bathroom. Décor was minimal. There were no pictures on the walls, no window treatments and the furnishings were somewhat rustic. The room and bathroom were clean. Check-in was pleasant and the person checking us in offered suggestions for dining options. There was a pool area adjacent to the main building we stayed in, however we did not use it. On the plus side, the room was quiet, comfortable and we slept well. The hotel was conveniently located within very close proximity to a shopping center with a supermarket and pharmacy. Cons were that the room was not aesthetically pleasing. In addition I noticed some mold on some of the foam in the air conditioner and I'm allergy sensitive to mold so I had to take allergy meds. There was a continental breakfast offered at 8 a.m. since we has to check out prior to 8 we were not able to benefit from this. All things considered, I felt like we overpaid for our stay at this motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pogo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Making a reservation at a place you've never been is always a risk...this worked out well. The Sea Lion is basic but has everything you need and it is clean. Extras included a continental breakfast and coffee, nice pool, and friendly/helpful staff. A great location just around the corner from Good Harbor Beach - can't beat that!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Really liked it here!
My self and my daughter went to Gloucester, MA for a weekend - just the girls and we really liked the Sea Lion Motel. We stayed in #103. Very basic.
I didn't care for the fact that there was no in-room coffee. But there was coffee at the Office - beginning at 8am.
Clean, staff is very friendly and helpful.
The room is VRY basic. Not worth the $100+/nite we paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I recently went to Gloucester MA for go on a Whale Watch Trip. The Sea Lion Motel was great!!! The owner and staff were very friendly and accommodating to all our needs. The motel was just a 5 minute drive to the Whale Watch boat. The room was very clean and big enough for 3 adult women. We were provided with a cot (at no extra charge) that was almost the size of a single bed and very comfortable to sleep on. If I ever have the chance to return to Gloucester I would not think twice about staying at this motel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed at the Sea Lion for 2 nights with my 2 daughters. The room was very clean and the beds were quite comfortable. Bathroom is tiny and shower head was not great. The location was perfect; close to everything! The staff was very helpful and kind. The pool was heated which was a plus as it got quite cool at night. Continental breakfast was simple, but, the hours were not that good. It was from 8am - 11am. Could have used it earlier as we had early morning ventures planned each day. Be aware of the $10 charge per night/per person over 2 people in the room (depending on children's age). I was not aware of it since I googled the stay for 1 adult and 2 children. Not a lot of extra money...but, wasn't expecting it. DEFINITELY will go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the Sea Lion for a 3 day weekend for some R & R. What a nice place! It is clean, cozy, close to everything, and the staff is wonderful. The pool is so nice if you don't want to fight the crowd at the beach. I will be looking to rent one of the cute cottages for a month next summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.9 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
524 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
390 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
2.2 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Lion Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Lion Motel

Property: Sea Lion Motel
Address: 138 Eastern Ave, Gloucester, MA 01930-1854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Lion Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Sea Lion Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Lion Hotel Gloucester
Sea Lion Motel Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing