We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Western Mass
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

Loved sitting out on the balcony, looking at the view of the twin lighthouses in the distance. You could also watch the sunrise over the ocean if you wanted to get up early. Room came with fridge, which was nice, and everything was spotless. Nice jogging, walking sidewalk out in front along the sea which was popular with locals and guests.
The staff was great and I enjoyed the breakfast restaurant immensely. The location was close to a great beach and there were places to kayak on the Cape as well.
I would love to go back and stay longer if I could!

Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Wmassoceanlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    86
    14
    0
    2
See reviews for
118
156
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

We had a wonderful time - beautiful view, very clean, comfortable bed! Staff is very helpful with recommendations for restaurants and whalewatching - everywhere we ate the food was very fresh and delicious - great walking along the shoreline across the street - onsite restaurant serves very good breakfast only --

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainBeachNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2008

My husband and I spent our 24th anniversary here. It was our first visit and loved it so much, we booked a week for the upcoming summer. We had a top floor king room, which was quite roomy. Rooms have been updated including flat screen T.V.'s and refrigerators. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Loved the private terrace outside of our room and watched the sunrise each morning. It is obvious the staff takes pride in their work; the room was immaculate during our entire stay. We enjoyed the breakfasts at the hotel restaurant and found the prices to be appropriate for fresh, homemade meals. Sunday breakfast offerings are extra special. The staff is professional and very helpful with directions to anywhere in Cape Ann. Loved the fresh baked chocolate cookies in the office every day. After running around all day, it was nice to come back to some quiet and relaxation.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank froggySchenectady_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2008

I saw the Atlanis on a Tripadvisor review. When we arrived, i was pleased to see the quality of the Motel was in line with the reviews (if you are from the Central US and have preconceptions of Motels, Motels are actually nice places in the Upper North East).
The gentleman that checked us in was friendly. They had menus of all Gloucester restaurants. It was a late night and he called all the restaurants he recommended to see if they were still open; a very kind gesture.
We booked the lowest level room on the 'garden' floor. It was approx $140/night (early Oct) and you could still see the ocean from the room. I believe that you can spend $20 more per night to get to the second floor and that probably would give a better ocean view, if that is important to you.
There is a restaurant at the motel only open for breakfast. It's decent and relatively inexpensive. I don't want to take anything away from the restaurant, but I say take the 10 minute trip and go to downtown Gloucester for breakfast.
When going to downtown Gloucester from the motel, take a right out of the hotel and see the beatiful house/views as you travel toward Gloucester

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PMski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2008

My wife and I, and one other couple, stayed at the Atlantis for 5 days early in September. We had third floor rooms. View was spectacular. Rates were reasonable. Rooms were immaculate. Staff was very friendly, but professional - well informed as to local matters, and directions for tourists. Breakfast in the Cafe was delicious, with varied choices, and priced moderately, with large portions. Well situated for walks along the seashore. Easy to access Rt. 128 which is apparently the "backbone" of Cape Ann. Especially enjoyed the coyote calls from the golf course adjacent to the parking lot. Can recommend whole-heartedly, without reservations.

  • Liked — All around satisfactory - no one single thing.
  • Disliked — No complaints whatsoever.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TysonElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ansonia,ct
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

Breathtaking views, spacious, clean room (but not fancy), helpful, friendly staff, fabulous breakfasts.

  • Liked — view, calm, casual atmoshere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dropshotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

The Atlantis was just what we wanted! We stayed on the top floor for three nights. Don't expect a five star pampered experience-instead, you get the feeling of having your own little cottage on the ocean. Perfect. The view from the balcony was so beautiful...the waves crashing on the huge, rounded granite rocks. Just down the way, the sandy Good Harbor beach-we could have walked there, but drove so we could have all our "stuff". The pool was nice and overlooked the ocean. The room was very clean. The small refrigerator was just right for keeping some snacks and beverages-and there are grocery stores near enough. We had two adults and two older teens and we did not feel cramped. Having a front and back door added to the openness. We ate at the breakfast restaurant attached and found the prices very reasonable and the selection was varied. I recommend the special oatmeal with pecans and cranberries (about $4.50), and the Atlantis sandwich which was an egg on english muffin with fresh spinach (about $6.50). We ate most meals out-and the staff at the desk had lots of information and recommendations for local restaurants. We will most definately be back.

  • Liked — The location, the view of the ocean.
  • Disliked — A little noisy in the mornings from the back/parking lot area-but not overly annoying.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeinply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
#4 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
14.4 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Oceanfront Inn

Property: Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Address: 125 Atlantic Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-4397
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantis Oceanfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantis Oceanfront Inn offers all the comforts of a large hotel with the freindly, attentive atmosphere of a small inn.We provide pristine accommadations that include oceanviews, air conditioning, refigerators, balconies or terrace sitting areas.Breakfast is offered daily in our oceanfront cafe'. Indulge in our creative and unique menu choices while enjoying the breathtaking view. Swim in our outdoor heated pool or stroll down to Good Harbor Beach just3/4 miles away. Located close to y restaurants, and many exciting activities make the Atlantis a perfect place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Atlantis Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Oceanfront Hotel Gloucester
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing