We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atlantis on the Atlantic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2008

We stayed here 6-22-08 to 6-25-08 as a family of four. We rented on a mid-week special for about four hundred bucks. A bargain!Our room was clean as a whistle and on the lower level of this three story motel. We had a view of the ocean looking out across the well manicured lawn. If you desire an unencumbered view of the ocean you'll need to request the middle or top floor. The rooms have doors on the parking lot and ocean side. Nice! Being on the lowest level made loading and unloading luggage a piece of cake. This is a well cared for older establishment with a friendly, helpful staff. The breakfast cafe has an outstanding view of the Atlantic. The food, coffee and service were above average. The bill for the four of us with tip was bit hefty, fifty bucks. There is a walking/jogging path about four feet wide along the edge of the Atlantic and you'll be on it in about a minute from your oceanfront door. Perfect! I walked that path each morning about 6AM and it was just beautiful. Walking along the path and seeing the gorgeous oceanfront homes being cloaked in the early morning mist was heavenly. The rocky shoreline is picture perfect. Good Harbor Beach is about a half a mile down the road and well worth the stroll or bike ride. It's a sandy beach and quite expansive. The kids loved it. One morning I happened upon a group of about twenty swimmers taking an early morning dip at the beach. That'll wake you up! We did a whale watch with the aptly named Cape Anne Whale Watch. We saw Humpbacks and Pilot whales. It was well worth the cost. The motel is about a mile from Gloucester harbor and a few miles from the artsy town of Rockport. The ladies love Rockport guys. At least mine did. It's a shopping thing! I enjoyed it as well. Now quit reading this and and go to Gloucester. The Atlantis and the Atlantic are waiting for you!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BelieveInYourself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 413 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2008

My husband and I spent two nights at The Atlantis in mid June. It was our first visit, but we hope it will now be a yearly tradition for us. The location is ideal, the entire facility is spotless, freshly painted and well maintained, and the staff is efficient, professional and friendly. The pool and surrounding area are inviting and the gardens are beautiful and tended daily.The patio and/or picture window offer an opportunity to enjoy the ocean view from the convenience of one's own room area. Breakfast in the restaurant owned by the Inn was excellent.
We are thankful to have "discovered" this gem!
N. and A., Uxbridge, MA

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bassrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

My bed in our 2nd floor room had a direct view (and sound) of ocean waves crashing to shore. This place is a diamond in the rough. It is immaculately clean, serves excellent gourmet breakfast (till 11 a.m.--price not included in room fee), complimentary cookies in the afternoon, has grounds with beautiful flowers (saw hummingbird) and a well kept attractive pool with ocean view. It keeps up to date with flat-screen tv, modern fridge and WiFi. Beds were clean & comfy. Balcony area is separated only by walls that extend partway; if you sit back in your chair you don't see other guests--those we saw were reading or talking and enjoying the outstanding view, as we were. I hated to leave and would love to return. Hotel is convenient to fun Rockport shops, Good Harbor Beach and Beauport house tour (awesome). Whale watch tours fill up fast--book upon arrival if you don't want to miss them like we did.

All in all, a great value for reasonable price. I would take this view any day over costly B&B Victorian frills and the like. It's clear that those working at the Atlantis love what they do from cooking to gardening and sharing expertise about the area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sharpsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2007

We stayed at the Atlantis one night in early September. Reservations were made over the phone – aptly and pleasantly handled. I’ve been to the Cape Ann/Gloucester area a number of times over the years, but this was my first stay at this motel. We encountered a highway project that diverted traffic once in Gloucester – luckily I had a good idea where we were going and took the “scenic” route.
The motel is a three story affair – all rooms facing the ocean. There is a local street with limited traffic and then the water. Directly behind the property is a golf course, but for me, the attraction was what was in front of the location – the Atlantic.
We had a room with 2 doubles on the top floor – which is really like the 2nd floor, as the middle floor is just a few steps up from ground and the lowest floor is a few steps below ground level.
The room and grounds were immaculate, some of the furnishings were not the most recent – but everything worked fine and was well maintained. A large picture window looked out on the water. Rooms have both a front and rear entrance – the rear is reached from the parking area. Two chairs and a table are set in front of each room, on a connected walkway making a terrace/balcony way. Note – there are no dividers or other obstructions between rooms. While we were there no one passed by, but perhaps on a busy summer day there may be more traffic.
There is a heated pool – with very nice landscaping. Asking for a dinner suggestion at the front desk, we were shown a variety of restaurant menus and given suggestions and comments from the clerk. When I settled on one possibility, he printed out driving directions to and from the motel.
The motel offers a full breakfast in what looked like a very nice dining room looking out on the water. Since there was a coffee maker in the room and we were leaving, we did not eat in the restaurant.
I would certainly return and spend a little more time at the Atlantis.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kurt12123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

This place has full ocean views of the Twin lighthouses, reasonable rates, clean rooms, a great little restaurant and a location that is easy to navigate to all of Cape Ann. The train from here to Boston for day trips is about a 50 minute ride. Let them do the driving. Now DON'T go because I want to be able to book a room next year. We go every year and it's getting harder to book late.

Seriously though, Similar places chrge far more and some places withou ocean views cost twice as much. Skip them and go to the Atlantis Motor Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nlandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

Stayed three nights recently and enjoyed the hotel. The pool was very clean, a good temperature (not too hot or cold), with lovely views of the ocean. The rooms are basic, but clean and neat, with a comfortable bathtub and adjustable shower. One complaint: the sheets were not made for the newer, thicker mattresses, so they did slip out of place during the night. The breakfast is wonderful (fabulous muffins) and we ended up eating there every morning. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank graybarn41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

We stayed here for four nights with my aged parents (in the next room) and our two children aged 8 and 5. We are non-smokers and booked a room that smokers used because we booked late and read on TripAdvisor that this was the place to stay. It did not disappoint us. The rooms were fine. The location is what is great about this place. Each room has a terrace (ours looked directly over the pool) and then beyond the pool is the ocean. The rooms are clean and the staff are nice.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sharonaOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.1 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
1.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
246 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#3 of 6 in Rockport
340 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
2.4 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Oceanfront Inn

Address: 125 Atlantic Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-4397
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: $132 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantis Oceanfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantis Oceanfront Inn offers all the comforts of a large hotel with the freindly, attentive atmosphere of a small inn.We provide pristine accommadations that include oceanviews, air conditioning, refigerators, balconies or terrace sitting areas.Breakfast is offered daily in our oceanfront cafe'. Indulge in our creative and unique menu choices while enjoying the breathtaking view. Swim in our outdoor heated pool or stroll down to Good Harbor Beach just3/4 miles away. Located close to y restaurants, and many exciting activities make the Atlantis a perfect place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Atlantis Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Oceanfront Hotel Gloucester
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing