We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Special Evening”

Cape Ann Brewing Company
Ranked #18 of 136 Restaurants in Gloucester
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A brew-pub that creates their own craft beers and serves up great pub food along with their incredible drafts.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Special Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Cape Ann Brewing is in our regular rotation of brewpubs for the variety of beer styles and the consistent quality. The food is above average brewpub fare and the service is knowledgeable and helpful. Our most recent visit was for a special occasion - a Beer Dinner in cooperation with the Northeast Seafood Coalition. The food emphasis was on sustainable seafoods and offered selections not commonly available - Smoked Pollack, Skate, Monkfish and Redfish. The owner, chef and head brewer did a great job of explaining the selections and reasons for the choices. Overall, one of the best Beer Dinners we've ever attended. Hope the Redfish makes it to the regular menu someday.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise_and_Dana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    81
    34
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
110 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Pub has a great location down on the water next to the fish market. The beer here is excellent with some unusual choices and they offer a flight of 6 for $8.50, an excellent bargain! The food unfortunately is not as inspired as the beer. We had mussels and habanro chicken wings. The mussels were ok, but the "sauce" was tasteless and the wings were hot but not particularly tasty. We would go back for a beer but not to eat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank panarama222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Run, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great date night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I had the Fish sandwich it was great. I don't drink beer but my husband does and always seems to enjoy it. I have gotten wings and other dishes and have never been disappointed. We eat there at least once a month when we come to town. I love eating on the deck when weather permits.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MByers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Decent Craft Beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

The craft beers here are decent especially some of the seasonal varieties. The recent Granny Smith IPA is very good--different from the usual citrus and pine overtones of most IPA's. I liked the subtle apple finish quite a lot. My wife had the Honey Pilsener which she liked a lot. She is a wine drinker so that is a recommendation. The growler policy here is quite odd. They will charge you two dollars more if you do not use their trademarked growler. I find this odd since the growler I used was sold by the company that does their bottling in Saratoga Springs, NY. Also, the charge to fill a growler with the seasonal varieties is very expensive. Note that I have had some of their seasonal varieties both here in Gloucester and in Saratoga Springs. Curiously, I often find the off site Saratoga Springs rendering superior, e.g. Pumpkin Ale.
We only had appetizers--quesadillas and calamari. The quesadillas were unremarkable. The calamari was perfectly fried but tasteless and boring. Too much breading and no detectable spices but at least it was not rubbery. The marinara was so thick that you could stick a pencil in--point first--and it would stand up. It was fresh and had good flavor but was so thick it would not stick to the calamari no matter how many times you tried. Go there for the beer not the food especially in the nice weather when there is a good view of the harbor!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good for beer, not for food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Took friends here who like beer. Made new friends with folks at the same long
table. We all tried each others beers and commented. Service was mediocre
as was the food. But we'd go again with "beer people."

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Ann Brewing Company also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Cape Ann Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing