We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Trip Back In Time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hammond Castle

Hammond Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.00*
and up
Gloucester Harbor Cruise with Brunch and Live Jazz
Ranked #3 of 52 things to do in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Medieval-style castle built by inventor John Hays Hammond.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
280 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Trip Back In Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Touring this castle takes one back in time to days and years gone by. appointed beautifully and the self guided tour was interesting and educational at the same time. way to go Hammond Castle

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dante-Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    108
    33
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
221 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very interesting place to visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Staff was super friendly and very knowledgeable of the castle. The grounds were simply beautiful and well kept. Unfortunately it was raining the day we went but still had a great time. Well worth the money and would go back if in the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Castles Rock!! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Actually went my first time to this castle in July 2011. It is the first castle I visited in the United States although I was born here and lived here my whole life. It was just me am my mother touring and we ended up touring along with some high school kids who were given a narrated your. I learned so much and enjoyed every area of the castle we experienced. If you love old things and history it's a great place to visit.

Helpful?
Thank kaaviles2384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Jewel of History, Science, and Eccentricity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Five minutes from downtown Gloucester. An early 20th century castle that was the home of the man who has the second most American patents (behind Charles Edison); he and his wife did not have children; and, they shared an inheritance. The castle is filled in ancient and medieval objects and entire rooms, plus one of the largest private pipe organs in the world. Overall, the castle is an intriguing insight of a brilliant man and the wealthy entertaining times of the Twenties and Thirties.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape ann massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fairy tale castle with fairy tale story”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

this is a pleasant stop on your bike or car or running tour around the 25 miles of cape ann the best ground and vista views in and out of forests, city and residential and business areas. see the fishing boats, the harbor, the beaches, the lighthouse, the roads in and out the moraine
of granite millions of years. The far horizon above the sea and maybe catch a view of a harvest moon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank softwear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammond Castle also viewed

 

Been to Hammond Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing