We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual Italian Deli”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Virgilio's

Virgilio's
Ranked #13 of 136 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Casual Italian Deli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We sat outside and ate our sandwiches and bakery - the locals do love this place - always a ood sign! Two locals stopped when they saw us looking at a map and told us how much they love this place. One said she can't ever walk by without buying something. Excellent bread.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusieMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    28
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
136 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Where the locals go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

What a wonderful shop and in particular try their rolls and bread. Their St. Joseph's roll is famous and once you try it you will know why. Their breads are terrific. If you get there when the breads are still warm. Get an extra loaf because there is no way you will be able to travel to your next stop without consuming most of it. Another "must" in Gloucester, Massachusetts.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Vermont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Best Bread!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Definitely worth a stop in here to take some of their bread home with you. They are closed on Sundays FYI.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank megquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Local Italian bakery yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great pizza, bread. Rolls and sandwiches can't be beat. Located right on main street. You won't be disappointed with this takeout place

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank padingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Almond cookies!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I asked the young lady who served us to pick out five different cookies for us to enjoy for an afternoon snack. She thought I was a little weird, but I figured she knew the cookies better than I did. They were all great, but the almond macaroon-y cookies were amazing. I'm sure there's a fabulous Italian word for them, but I just call them yummy. Came back the next day to buy more to bring as a hostess gift.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank youvegot2bkidding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgilio's also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Virgilio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing