We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish flair”
Review of Stones Pub

Stones Pub
Ranked #47 of 141 Restaurants in Gloucester
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Irish flair”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My parents live in Gloucester and took us here to dine one night. They were greeted by first name and shown to a nice booth at the back. The food is definitely yummy.

Terrific service! Everyone is so friendly; you can tell they take pride in all they do. They love sharing their drink concoctions and innovative maccaroon desserts.

I look forward to returning on our next trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katimay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    7
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great local pub with terrific food!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Great local pub. The five cheese Mac & Cheese w/bacon was real, homemade comfort food. Rich, thick and very good. My 17 year old son had the Ruben w/ apple & onion sauerkraut. The sauerkraut is made on site. It was served on pumpernickel made by the bakery down the street. He inhaled it. Our waiter was professional and friendly. When asked, he was happy to explain the house specialties. His suggestions were perfect. The Chocolate Mint Mousse Pie was worth the calories.
This little place was a great find!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CamNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Loved it! I got a portabella burger - it was huge! And their sweet potato fries were excellent - and I don't even eat french fries! Also, their lemon cake was to die for - I'm gonna have to come back just for that!!!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Natalia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, MA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous Pub”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Absolutely charming pub - warm and welcoming staff. Great food. Lobster rolls are the best. They have fabulous and creative menu. Food is very fresh. The staff makes you feel like you're part of the family. Pumpkin beer and homemade desserts made our lunch all the more memorable. Too good to pass by when you're in Gloucester.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BTK1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this place, GREAT food.”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just came back from Gloucester and had to tell everyone about this place. Great place for families. The service was outstanding always checking on us and the food was delicious. I have two picky eaters in my family and they both found food they liked and insisted we go back the next night for dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mjonesNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stones Pub also viewed

 

Been to Stones Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing