We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish where the locals eat”
Review of Charlie's Place

Charlie's Place
Ranked #12 of 151 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Reviewed February 18, 2019

My sister and I always have several meals at Charlie's when we are in Gloucester. Sometimes it rains and a bowl of haddock chowder there is just right. Sometimes we get lobster rolls but then I'll order the scallop dinner and she'll take the clam dinner. that way we can each have a mix of seafood. We often succumb to the homemade pies or puddings too.
All of the food is fresh, plentiful and fried just right . Plenty of parking in the lot too. Most important you hear mostly North Shore accents there- proof that local customers eat here too. Enjoy!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 229 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2018

This is a very small and local place, but the food is incredible!!! The people are wonderful and have great chowders, fish and clam and varieties and all types of seafood! And they have homemade pies and desserts if you can still eat anything when you are finished!!!
We always go after whale watches or when in Gloucester for any reason!!!! Never disappointing--unless they are closed!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank joann1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2018

This is a great small local place that has great seafood and great friendly service. Breakfast is good, lunch/dinner is great. Fresh seafood. Good specials on fried clams and lobster rolls on certain days. Great chowder. Chicken fingers are amazing.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2018

We got in a bit late to our hotel (usual bad Boston traffic), and wanted a place close and good. Our hotel suggested this. We were please. A little family place, clearly locals go here. I had the meatloaf, which was very good and my wife had fried fish. Also good. It was a good thing we had a fridge in our hotel room, as we had leftovers, as portion size was good. Glad for the recommendation too. It will be on our list the next time we go to Gloucester. Very friendly service as befits a family place. Good desserts too, though we got those to go as we were full

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kgilbert78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

Nice casual atmosphere. Excellent friendly service. Very good comfort food. Terrific breakfasts. Ample parking. Gets very crowded during summer weekends etc. but worth the wait.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank PaulZCapeAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Place also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Charlie's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing