We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family run restaurant”
Review of Charlie's Place

Charlie's Place
Ranked #14 of 141 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great family run restaurant”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just got in to Good Harbor beach area for the weekend. My lady and I were both hungry so we stopped at Charlies. Nice dinner type restaurant. We sat at the counter and enjoyed talking with our server. She recommeded different items and told us the pies were home made, in fact by her Grandmother. My lady had a Lobster roll that was great. I had a scallop roll, it had so many scallops, I had to eat about 6 before I could eat it like a roll. If in the area try it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigt101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    71
    16
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Forge, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great seafood .”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Went there for lunch. Atmosphere was good, Haddock chowder was great. Lobster roll was excellent. Would recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonderry,nh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Frequent there often.”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Live nearby. Lobster roll and scallops our favorites. Visiting family and friends enjoy it when we get take out.At our expense of course:) Not quite as busy as other local tourist places. The food is just as good or better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pdbkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent food and a great value!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just ate lunch there today with some friends. The food was very very good. We had the fish and chips and chowder. The fish was very fresh and perfectly fried and the chowder was superb. Our waitress was very friendly and quick to refill our glasses and bring us everything we needed. We will certainly be back next time we are in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank panarama222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Recommend ~”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We eat at Charlie's Place frequently. Their prices are decent and the food is almost always delicious! Charlie's has one of the best Seafood plates around. When a Tourist asks where a good place to eat is in Gloucester, I will always recommend Charlie's Place as one of the best.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbieHz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Place also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Charlie's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing