We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous day for sailing”

Schooner Thomas E. Lannon
Ranked #7 of 28 Tours in Gloucester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Picture yourself relaxing on the deck of this beautiful 65- foot schooner as she sails out of Gloucester harbor on a light southwesterly breeze. Join us for a two-hour sail and get a taste for what it was like to sail on a fishing schooner a hundred years ago. Help the crew raise the sails, or just sit back and take in the sights and sounds of Gloucester's coastline. Some of our weekend public sails feature music. We offer group rates. And we specialize in private charters for weddings, corporate entertainment, teambuilding, birthdays and more. The Lannon is a great place for a party!
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Gorgeous day for sailing”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This schooner ride is the best and most relaxing way to view the downtown area of Gloucester and see the Ten Pound Island and Eastern Point lighthouses. The staff is friendly and they sell snacks and drinks. Make sure to wear a jacket as it can get windy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Nice Sail”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This wasn't the most comfortable schooner I've ever sailed on but it was a nice trip. It was a decent value with the groupon rate but I don't think it's worth full price. Most tour companies interact with the guests and offer some information about sights being seen along the way. This trip started out with us being told, literally, that if we wanted a guided tour we should charter one. The captain was also very short with my autistic son as we were boarding and that put a bad taste in my mouth from the get-go.

All we did was sail for two hours while the captain engaged in a bit of repartee with a few of the guests. With the sheer number of lighthouses and landmarks we passed along the way it would have been nice to get a little of the history, but there was none of that. It was a very vanilla sort of trip. If you like that, you'll enjoy sailing on the Lannon. We will not be taking another trip with them.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank JoeQ1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful September schooner sail”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I decided to take this cruise of Gloucester Harbor. The weather was absolutely perfect and the crew was skilled and extremely friendly. We will definitely do this again in the spring !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cellenrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“talkative captain who believes conspiracy theories”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Enjoyable trip except for having to listen to the captain mouth off conspiracy theories. We were a captive audience. Not as relaxing as we had hoped.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Onion-free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Schooner Thomas E. Lannon”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

So pretty at the Sunset Cruise. They had Irish singers that just set a wonderful mood. They served wine and let the passengers bring sandwiches, etc. They also served some snacks. Grate photo ops of the ocean and the homes along the way. Definately recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner Thomas E. Lannon also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Schooner Thomas E. Lannon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing