We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Night!”

Ryan & Wood Distilleries
Ranked #11 of 56 things to do in Gloucester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Come visit and tour our craft distillery, the first legal distillery on the North Shore since Prohibition! See firsthand how fine hand crafted spirits are made in our beautiful copper pot Still. Learn how we ferment, distill, barrel age and bottle our Beauport Vodka, Knockabout Gin, Folly Cove Rum and Ryan & Wood family of Whiskies. All done on site. The tour, usually guided by Kathy or Bob Ryan, is free and lasts about an hour. Perfect for a quick stop before lunch. We are a hidden gem, just minutes from other Gloucester attractions. Scheduled Tours: Monday,Wednesday,Friday and Saturday, 10:00am and 1:00pm. Call for Private/Group Tours. Check our website for more information.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Fantastic Night!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We visited Ryan & Wood Distilleries last night for a unique parent's gathering for a local school. I cannot say enough wonderful things about our evening. Kathy & Bob Ryan were more than accommodating in handling our group. They were gracious hosts and provided an interesting and informative tour. Loved the rum punch! Samples of the spirits were great as well. Looking for something to do on a rainy day, or a way to entertain a large group? Take a tour of Ryan & Wood Distilleries. You won't be disappointed. Make sure to buy a bottle or two on your way out!
Thanks again!
Alana D.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeauportBobRyan, Owner at Ryan & Wood Distilleries, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Alana, thanks for the review. It is appreciated. It was a fun time and your friends were quite comfortable to have here. I look forward to seeing you here again. Cheers, Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
“Fun tour, knowledgable owners!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Buy local! We dropped in a bit off from the scheduled tour time, but the owner graciously gave our small group a tour anyway. He was very knowledgable about his trade, though only having been distilling for seven years. Would recommend it to anyone spending a day in Gloucester.

Helpful?
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just Before Lunch”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Bob Ryan, one of the owners, greeted me as I walked in the door. I was the only "guest" so he introduced me to his son Doug and explained to me how he got started in this distillery. Since I had been to Hanger 1 near San Francisco we had plenty to talk about. Here you see everything up close. I allowed to roam and photograph in this relaxed space. .If you purchase a bottle of one of their spirits you will see a hand written note on the label as to its barrel and bottle number. Another nice personal touch. The gift shop is an excellent place to get something for your favorite drinker.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hankzby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

A very informative and very well explained process in distiling. Well worth stopping by and seeing the process and sampling each product.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JamesS713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great unique experience in New England”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were the only 2 people on the 1:00pm tour. During the next hour we were treated to an extremely informative tour of artisan distillery. No detail was left out and the passion they show for their craft really shows through from start to finish. The still itself, is a beautifully crafted piece from Germany, if memory serves correct. At the conclusion of the tour, we tasted their Gin, Vodka, Rye, and Rum. Each had a unique character and quality to it, so we purchased one of each. Cheers to Kathy for taking time out of her day and best wishes for continued success and growth.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ryan & Wood Distilleries also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Ryan & Wood Distilleries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing