We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1960's era motel ~ Quiet, clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Captain's Lodge
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Suffern, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“1960's era motel ~ Quiet, clean and friendly”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

First let me start out by saying that if you are a princess, keep looking. But Dad, age 90, and I found it fine. We've stayed at better and we certainly have stayed at worst! The price was more than fair and the owner was visible during our whole stay doing what needed to be done to improve this older motel. We needed a lightbulb and an extra towel and we were served immediately. The beds were very comfortable, the water was plenty hot, the environment was quiet. The TV wasn't very good with very few channels and the weather channel had poor reception. There was a large piece of property with a tennis court and clean inviting pool but we did not use them. We were in a perfect location (just a few miles from Rockport) to continue our trip along the coast of Cape Ann. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    13
    15
    28
See reviews for
24
27
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
rhode island
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at the Captain's Lodge Motel for one night and found it to be clean but very old and worn. There was an overpowering smell of room freshener and disinfectant. The AC worked just fine which was a key factor in our staying there because it was 100 degrees that day in Gloucester. The owner was very nice to us and reduced the price of the room because it was a smoking room. The TV was quite old with no remote control and the room had not been updated in 20 or more years. We slept soundly but were relieved to be on our way the next morning. Perhaps the nonsmoking rooms are more appealing but we were creeped out by our accomodations.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cattlegirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

Milford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I have been coming to this motel for over ten years. Years ago it started to get run down but, since the current owners took over they are doing an excellent job fixing the place up. The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. The property is well maintained and if there is anything wrong with your room someone is there within minutes to evaluate the problem. One of the things I like about this motel is all of the rooms are at ground level so you don't have the hassle of going up and down stairs. Each room has two doors; one goes to the parking lot and the other goes to the Tennis Court/ Pool Area. The pool is very inviting because it is clean and crystal clear.
Another great thing about this motel is its location, you're only a few miles from Rockport if you want to go sightseeing and your close to the Yankee Fleet to go deep sea fishing. There is a supermarket, liquor store, and a Dunkin Donuts just down the street.
In addition, above all are the reasonable rates they charge. I will be back to this motel time and time again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R-Augustine33838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This hotel is spacious, very clean grounds and pool. The hotel staff is very accomodating also. This will be the third summer that I am staying there with my family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassie7188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

My family stayed here in June and we were very pleased with our stay. our room was very large with high ceilings and doors on both sides that we could open and enjoy the breeze. The pool was large and very clean. I don't know why people left such terrible reviews but I feel they were unfounded. The staff was all very nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 54006Lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Over the years I have stayed at the Captains Lodge many times, when they had different owners. The last few years the new owners have driven this once lovely place into the ground. The rooms are dirty, musty smelling and the TVs and showers don't always work well, if at all. The service is bad and there is only one person on the premises to do anything, i.e, bring towels, fix things, clean rooms, etc. They don't even make the beds unless you specifically ask them to. I didn't know this should have been a "special request" when I checked in. The entire place is in bad disrepair and should be closed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlondiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captainslodge, Manager at The Captain's Lodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Property is under New Mangement since September 2010.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Me and my husband were looking for place to stay while driving home and this place was very accomodating and value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.5 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
524 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
390 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
2.5 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Lion Motel
Sea Lion Motel
#5 of 7 in Gloucester
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Lodge

Property: The Captain's Lodge
Address: 237 Eastern Ave, Gloucester, MA 01930-1897
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Captain's Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Captain's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain's Lodge Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing