We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience ever.”
Review of Wingaersheek Motel

Wingaersheek Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wingaersheek Motel
Ranked #14 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 17, 2010

On our honeymoon we had such a hard time finding a good place to stay within our budget. This place was the nicest we have ever encountered. Super clean room, a comfy bed, fireplace, whirlpool, cathedral ceiling with a skylight along with the hardwood floors. For now on when we go north this is going to be our first stop along the way. The front desk is a pleasure and I want to thank you, again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tedpox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Wingaersheek Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 49 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2010

stayed @ wingaersheek motel with a number of family members fro a wedding we were attending. this is an older property with very small basic rooms. the "motel" style rooms were really more like bungalow rooms - frankly, my living room is bigger, and it's not all that big. the bathrooms were small and desperately needed updating - never fun to feel the linoleum sticking to your feet because it's no longer adhered to the floor as it should be. rooms were also in serious need of repainting, many scuffs & scratches throughout, and the ceilings were also quite dated. those who stayed in the upgraded "suites" were more satisfied as they did have some more room to spread out, but still these rooms looked as though they hadn't been updated in quite some time. overall not the greatest place to stay, unfortunately this area doesn't have any name brand hotels so it's alot of hit & miss, but wingaersheek is not the way to go - i would have preferred a motel 6 honestly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank larryb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We stayed in some wonderful places during our trip to New England, but the Wingaersheek is my favorite. It feels more like a bed & breakfast than a motel. It's sparkling clean and totally quiet. The proprietors are wonderful. We were a little early for the main season and the motel wasn't full, so they upgraded us from a room to the cottage (#9) at no additional charge. The cottage is so nice, I will pay the extra money to stay there when we go back. It has a kitchenette, cathedral ceiling, and small deck on the back. We opened the windows, turned on the ceiling fan, and enjoyed the breezes - no need to run the A/C. In the middle of the night, we saw a deer outside the window in the moonlight - magical!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MusicLover67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We stayed at this motel for four nights. We were traveling with a motorcycle and a F350 truck. The owners were very nice about us parking the bike under the eaves in front of our room. And by the way, there is a campsite down the road about a mile to drive the bike off the bed of the truck ( also nice people). The room was small BUT VERY CLEAN !!!! And that says alot to me. Clean towels daily! And plenty of them. It was easy to get to downtown and all the attractions. I recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolene0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2008

We stayed here last night after having dinner locally - the owners were extremely gracious and the room was spotless. It was an affordable, clean, quick overnight accomodation for us and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank myjezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2007

I stayed here one night by myself. The room was nicely appointed with a kitchen. It was a well run place, and they get you discounted access to the local beach (normally a $25 access fee!!). The whole area is crowded in, with twisty confusing roads, but this place seemed like a little oasis. Signage nearby gets you back to the motel, even if you get lost, like I did. The restaurant recommendations in the room info packet are spot-on.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tooluser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2007

We stayed at the Wingaersheek Motel for two nights this summer, when driving back from Maine to Boston during a trip to New England. We were expecting just a nicer than average motel, but we were pleasantly surprised. It is a lovely place, with nice furniture and really clean. It shows that the owners take really good care of it. Our room was pristine with nice touches. During our trip in New England we stayed in some quite expensive bed and breakfasts and inns, and I must say they do not compare to the Wingaersheek Motel which is half the price.

Although it is just off the motorway it is really quiet and you don't hear anyy traffic noise. The beach (which is very nice and good for children) is a short drive away and the owners give you a pass that entitles you to a 10 dollars discount (quite good since the full price is $25!) There are many restaurants nearby: we went to the "Lobsta Shack" just around the corner for a brilliant breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
4.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
398 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
226 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
1.7 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
178 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Castle Manor Inn
The Castle Manor Inn
#3 of 17 in Gloucester
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingaersheek Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingaersheek Motel

Address: 46 Concord St, Gloucester, MA 01930-2306
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Wingaersheek Hotel Gloucester
Wingaersheek Motel Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing