We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Ann Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cape Ann Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Chicago
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Special Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Have been going there for over 30 years. The location is perfect. On the beach...out of the way. Always go in the fall & is a great base. Equal distance to Gloucester and Rockport. Kitchenettes are nice if you are staying longer. Walking the beach every morning is a pleasant way to start the day. Friendly atmosphere. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are quieter, but the stairs are a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boomerbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    71
    27
    10
    33
See reviews for
70
82
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The inn is right on the Ocean. Beach is good until tide comes in. Inn is older and rooms are in need of remodeling. Rooms are noisey. Staff is very friendly and they have coffee and donuts for a morning snack. Good location to Rockport and Gloucester. Harbor beach is just down the road.

Room Tip: Stay on upper floors. Walls and ceilings are thin. Can hear people walking or talking in other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boones Mill, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Even thou this is a small quiant little hotel, it was awesome.
Family own and run. They were terrific. The bakery made - right out of the oven pastries they had each morning with juice and coffee was exceptional. A diamond in the rough

Room Tip: The owner was helpful when we called in for reservations. We got the 3rd floor - opposite end of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrsuede3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montvale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

My daughter and her family live in Gloucester and I am there very often.
This was my first visit to Cape Ann Motor Inn. I found it to be charming, unique and delightful.
I stayed there with my daughter and two granddaughters. We boogie boarded, at low tide we found all sorts of sea creatures and walked the whole length of the beach in the evening. Staff and other guests were every friendly. My granddaughters loved hanging out with the talking parrot in the lobby. I loved it...it was like going back to the sixties; nothing fancy, but clean and right on the beach. Also, you can walk to an ice cream place and a hoagie/pizza/sandwich shop right up the road. Looking forward to another visit next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phyllis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

To start off, the only positive thing that this motel has going for it is its location right on the beach. But other than that, I wholeheartedly agree with everything that Tim J wrote, and I also am sorry to be posting a negative review. Just returned from one night at this motel and we will never return.
When we first checked out our assigned room we heard a dog yelping and barking in a nearby room. We went back to the reception and learned that this hotel allows pets. We did not know that, it is not listed in the brochure. Normally we avoid hotels that allow pets because of allergies, and because we don't like to sleep in a room where a pet has done who knows what.
The person at the reception called the room where the dog was staying, but there was no answer. Clearly the dog owners had left it in the room by itself, which is against the motel's "policy" (posted on little signs everywhere).
We insisted being moved to another room. We were re-assigned to a room on the ground floor. In the middle of the night the people in the room above us decided to have a loud party. Since the walls and ceilings are paper-thin, it's like we were in the party. We called the reception, but there was no answer. You're totally on your own in this place.
After a bad night's sleep, we checked out the promised "Continental breakfast". Well, it's a joke: coffee, tea, orange juice, and several boxes of donuts and muffins strewn around the reception area. No tables to sit at, just a big old couch.
The motel boasts that it has been in business for 40 years. Well, it sure has not been updated in all those 40 years.
Our advice: do not stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank EastCoastTraveler19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location with a beautiful beach. Lovely walk on the beach. Pet friendly. Muffins and coffee in the morning. Rooms a bit dated, but comfortable. Would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYTOWN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The motor inn is right on the beach and the view is worth a million dollars! Ok so the room is simple but clean. You just cant beat the location and the view from our balcony was breathtaking. I booked on the run and did not read the reviews. It is sad that the person who really gave this place a bad rap knows how to type. The people were friendly, the price was right, and the view was extraordinary! We had a wonderful stay and will go back again. Our neighbors told us they come every year for their anniversary too.

Room Tip: A balcony room is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apointintime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.7 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
#4 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.0 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Ann Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Ann Motor Inn

Property: Cape Ann Motor Inn
Address: 33 Rockport Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-1917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cape Ann Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Ann Motor Hotel Gloucester
Cape Ann Motor Inn Gloucester, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing