We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO AIR CONDITIONING, FRONT DESK WAS HORRIBLE, PAY EXTRA FOR KIDS OVER 18”
Review of Cape Ann Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cape Ann Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2012

!. Made 3 room reservations in January 2012 for this past weekend for my nephews wedding in Hamilton., One room got cancdelled by a mistake with the motel not assuming the responsibility at all.
2. Charged $555 for a deposit for 3 nights ($185 each night) We cancelled a room for my mother on my receipt, balance of $370 which would be my two nights. The front desk person actually fought with me telling her I owed her over 150 MORE! My nephew stepped in and was speaking to her for 1/2 hour and she was fighting with him., Ended up paying extra for my 22 year old! Make sure you ask for a fan, or bring one, we were miserable. This place needs to get taken down! OLd Old Old
3. Traveled to this beach from my childhood and couldn't wait to make memories with my kids, the situation was so pathetic we all said "take this off the bucket list"!
3, Location is great, if you have people visiting you pay $20 to park the car!
4, No towels in my nephews room this am when showering, had to give him my last towel!
Sorry guys, this is not an up to date Motel at all,,
5, FYI, animals are allowed, didnt know that until we got there and had left our dog home with friends taking care of her, would have loved to have brought her there!!
Sorry Cape Ann, our families would NEVER stay there again!

Room Tip: The room go front to back so if you want a breeze, you have to open your front door!!!! Not so cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank njbostonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 224 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I just made our first trip to Gloucester and spent 2 nights at the Cape Ann Motor Inn. It was great. The room was clean and the view was superb. We couldn't have asked for a better location. It's not fancy but has everything you need. The front desk staff was very helpful. Our son and a friend visited for one day and the staff was very accommodating in letting them park in the Inn's lot. There are many restaurants nearby and lots of activities in the neighboring towns if you don't want to just lie on the beach.i would recommend the Cape Ann Motor Inn to anyone who wants a reasonably priced vacation right on the beach.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaSaugerties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I just spent our first wedding anniversary and had our first stay at Cape Ann Motor Inn. This was also our first time to Gloucester and Rockport. This motel is no hilton but if your looking for a nice get away for a long weekend or week. This is the place. The motel is located directly on the beach. The view is beautiful and sleeping to the sound of the ocean waves was very relaxing. The motel is old but very clean. We are very picky and after reading reviews on here before we left to stay at the motor inn we weren't sure what to expect. But it was a wonderful stay and we are looking forward to returning again next summer and bringing our children with us. Rockport is great for shopping and Gloucester had some great places to eat at.

Room Tip: I wouldn't suggest staying in a room where the stair cases are (middle of the motel) Only becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have been going to the Cape Ann Motor Inn for over 30 years and have never been disappointed. The staff is very friendly and cannot do enough for you. The continental breakfast is always fresh and the coffee is good. The view is the best there is and it is very relaxing, what else is a vacation for. We will continue going back.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for a week over the July 4th holiday.

We enjoyed being right on the beach and the fabulous views of Thacher Island and the twin lighthouses.

The management was really nice allowing our family members to visit and park at the hotel while we were there.

The housekeepers were very efficient and pleasant everyday and seemed to enjoy their work.

Room Tip: Over the 4th they have loud fireworks every night but if you expect to hear celebrations it won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyondown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We found the Cape Ann Motor Inn to be delightful and the overall experience provided a wonderful and relaxing few days. The staff is exceptional and made us feel both welcome from registration to check-out. They were focused on their guests and wanted to ensure our comfort and satisfaction. Although the inn is somewhat dated, it is very comfortable and the staff was constantly working to make sure the facility was impeccably clean --- the best we've seen and superior to any other lodging facility (including major brands). The entire atmosphere was warm and inviting and it seemed to rub off on the other guests as we found people we didn't know to be friendly and courteous. Being right on the beach provides an unequaled experience --- with a breath taking sunrise in the morning and the sound of the waves to rock a person to sleep at night! Everything considered, this is the place of choice! We are already looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Cape Ann Motor Inn is the only motel or hotel on the beach in Rockport. Old fashioned motor inn, three stories high, all rooms facing the ocean. Some efficiencies, some with only refrigerators, ceiling fans (no air conditioning) and sliding door to balcony. Plain but clean and pleasant and helpful personnel. Comfortable for casual beach stay. Complimentary coffee and pastries in the lobby every morning. Restaurants and shopping nearby.

Room Tip: No elevators so consider ability to carry bags up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.7 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
547 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
1.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
240 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
179 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Ann Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Ann Motor Inn

Address: 33 Rockport Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-1917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range: $110 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cape Ann Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Ann Motor Hotel Gloucester
Cape Ann Motor Inn Gloucester, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing