We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Ann Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cape Ann Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Saugerties
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I just made our first trip to Gloucester and spent 2 nights at the Cape Ann Motor Inn. It was great. The room was clean and the view was superb. We couldn't have asked for a better location. It's not fancy but has everything you need. The front desk staff was very helpful. Our son and a friend visited for one day and the staff was very accommodating in letting them park in the Inn's lot. There are many restaurants nearby and lots of activities in the neighboring towns if you don't want to just lie on the beach.i would recommend the Cape Ann Motor Inn to anyone who wants a reasonably priced vacation right on the beach.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaSaugerties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    71
    27
    10
    33
See reviews for
70
82
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I just spent our first wedding anniversary and had our first stay at Cape Ann Motor Inn. This was also our first time to Gloucester and Rockport. This motel is no hilton but if your looking for a nice get away for a long weekend or week. This is the place. The motel is located directly on the beach. The view is beautiful and sleeping to the sound of the ocean waves was very relaxing. The motel is old but very clean. We are very picky and after reading reviews on here before we left to stay at the motor inn we weren't sure what to expect. But it was a wonderful stay and we are looking forward to returning again next summer and bringing our children with us. Rockport is great for shopping and Gloucester had some great places to eat at.

Room Tip: I wouldn't suggest staying in a room where the stair cases are (middle of the motel) Only becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have been going to the Cape Ann Motor Inn for over 30 years and have never been disappointed. The staff is very friendly and cannot do enough for you. The continental breakfast is always fresh and the coffee is good. The view is the best there is and it is very relaxing, what else is a vacation for. We will continue going back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for a week over the July 4th holiday.

We enjoyed being right on the beach and the fabulous views of Thacher Island and the twin lighthouses.

The management was really nice allowing our family members to visit and park at the hotel while we were there.

The housekeepers were very efficient and pleasant everyday and seemed to enjoy their work.

Room Tip: Over the 4th they have loud fireworks every night but if you expect to hear celebrations it won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyondown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We found the Cape Ann Motor Inn to be delightful and the overall experience provided a wonderful and relaxing few days. The staff is exceptional and made us feel both welcome from registration to check-out. They were focused on their guests and wanted to ensure our comfort and satisfaction. Although the inn is somewhat dated, it is very comfortable and the staff was constantly working to make sure the facility was impeccably clean --- the best we've seen and superior to any other lodging facility (including major brands). The entire atmosphere was warm and inviting and it seemed to rub off on the other guests as we found people we didn't know to be friendly and courteous. Being right on the beach provides an unequaled experience --- with a breath taking sunrise in the morning and the sound of the waves to rock a person to sleep at night! Everything considered, this is the place of choice! We are already looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Cape Ann Motor Inn is the only motel or hotel on the beach in Rockport. Old fashioned motor inn, three stories high, all rooms facing the ocean. Some efficiencies, some with only refrigerators, ceiling fans (no air conditioning) and sliding door to balcony. Plain but clean and pleasant and helpful personnel. Comfortable for casual beach stay. Complimentary coffee and pastries in the lobby every morning. Restaurants and shopping nearby.

Room Tip: No elevators so consider ability to carry bags up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Small but extremely clean rooms with an ocean view. Not much insulation from noise but it is a perfect location for a long weekend or week stay on the beach. Just walk out of your room and your on a mile long white sandy beach and beautiful water. A view of the twin lighthouses, gorgeous sunrise and a talking parrot!

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd floor on an end or if with an elderly person ask for the first (stairs are a bit nar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.7 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
#4 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.0 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Ann Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Ann Motor Inn

Property: Cape Ann Motor Inn
Address: 33 Rockport Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-1917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cape Ann Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Ann Motor Hotel Gloucester
Cape Ann Motor Inn Gloucester, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing