We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great relaxing trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Shutters Beachside Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
lubbock, tx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great relaxing trip”
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed last week of June. The accommodation is very nice, just like we expected. The location is excellent. Food is great and we recommend causeway restaurant the most. It is a busy place, but you can order it out, we took the food to the nearby park while our 4 year old son played. The whalewatching with 7seas is great, but I and my son had seasick (though I was told the sea was very calm that day). The staff were very nice about it. My son took a small nap 'till we get to the whales , and woke up to enjoy the rest of the trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    21
    6
    4
    11
See reviews for
39
50
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed in the Lookout room on the third floor. The room is comfortable and clean, and the location is absolutely perfect. Patty and Ed and Tony were there, and are the nicest people you could ever meet. They go out of their way to make sure you are having a great time. One day it rained and Patty brought out a portable DVD player for my boys and we played a board game...fun even on a rainy day! We'll go back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingston_NYRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2009

my wife and i stayed in the lookout . wondeful view , fantastic breeze clean spacious. tony and patty were wonderful hosts and we cant wait to go back. good late night chats,warm personal care and the guests that were there when we were there fit right in with the coziness and warmth. thank you tony and patty we will be back john and sheila

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oo114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2009

First off, one of the owners (Ed?), when we arrived,was confrontational. At night, a loud mouth. Kept us up. The back rooms are a dump and unsafe (ie porch) for small children. I cannot believe the porches meet code. They are close to the beach. Only thing going for them. Patty (?) is the best. The one good person on the place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csblueshutters, Co-owner at Blue Shutters Beachside Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2009
We can ensure anyone planning to stay at the Blue Shutters that our porches – and other parts of the inn – meet code. As for the condition of our rooms…we’ve made a number of improvements and updates in recent years -- including new bedding, furniture and amenities. Since we took over the B&B in February 2007, we’ve worked to make sure every guest enjoys their stay – including those looking for conversation and those looking for quiet – and as TripAdvisor reviews indicate, we’ve succeeded is almost every case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2009

The Blue Shutters Inn is a great place to stay. I had the pleasure of staying there for my wedding weekend in June 2009. Not only did the owners welcome me with open arms, but they were so undertstanding and helpful to my entire family who stayed there with me. The rooms are clean and have amazing views. The owners make you feel at home and are so down to earth. The location is perfect with the beach right across the way. No need to worry about parking as you can park right at the inn and walk to the beach. Great breakfast in the mornings. You wont find friendlier staff or a better location anywhere else in Gloucester.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucesterBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

My wife, daughter and I had a wonderful Labor Day weekend at this warm and friendly home away from home. The two couples who run the Inn, Ed/AnnMarie and Tony/Patty are natural hosts and veterans of the area who seem to know every restaurant hostess when you need a reservation. You can tell they love making people relaxed and happy. Hard not to leave without thinking of them as friends, even after two or three days. I have lived in Massachusetts for more than 25 years and believe Good Harbor Beach-just steps from the Inn's front door- is the nicest beach in the state- warm water (for our area anyway), mild waves with a slow drop off, and sand/ocean floor like cotton. At dusk sit on the Inn's comfy sofa and look out the big bay window at the ocean with binoculars on hand. The rooms are not fancy but they are comfortable- many with great views, all with cable TV and wireless internet, and some with kitchens. Prices are more than fair- we paid about $200 a day total including taxes for two rooms with a connecting door, microwave, refrigerator, and room air conditioners. If you tire of the beach (is that possible?), the town of Gloucester is a 5 minute drive. A working fishing port with great seafood and funky shops to explore. About 10 minutes away is the art colony of Rockport, a picture-postcard New England community- also on the water- with several blocks of wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants.

The folks at Blue Shutters say they're planning some theme weekends (Halloween, Octoberfest, Christmas, etc.) outside of beach season, and this may well be a great place to visit then too, sitting by a roaring fire and unwinding. I hope to find out!

Go see this spot if you want to know why it's easy to love New England!

  • Liked — Location near beach and friendliness of the Innkeepers
  • Disliked — Noise coming through the ceiling from the room above
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmikeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lunenburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2008

My husband and I were lucky enough to get a room at the last minute, due to a cancellation. The room was ocean view, the owners ( ed and tony) were great. We did not have the opportunity to meet the wives, however we will be back without a doubt! Ed is great, it was like we knew him for years...he makes everyone feel like a longtime friend and thats what makes this place so great....We are probably going to go back this winter and again next summer. This was a great find, but I will warn you......if you have a sense of humor, don't forget to bring it! If you don't, you had better get one! You will enjoy your stay even more!

Maribeth & Dave Ulf
Lunenburg, MA

  • Liked — Ed!!!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mbulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.8 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
384 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
195 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
1.8 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#2 of 17 in Gloucester
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Shutters Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Shutters Beachside Inn

Property: Blue Shutters Beachside Inn
Address: 1 Nautilus Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-3202
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from Good Harbor Beach (#1 Beach in New England 2012). Minutes to downtown Gloucester (America's Oldest Fishing Port) and Rockport. Close to Cape Ann's 20+ restaurants and dozens of shops and galleries, as well as the Rocky Neck Art Colony (America's oldest and continuous operating art colony). Just 55 minutes by car or commuter rail to Boston and less than 2 hours drive from other New England destinations. We're one of the most popular spots on "the island you can drive to" (our section of Gloucester is separated from the Massachusetts mainland by the Annisquam River). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Shutters Beachside Hotel Gloucester
Blue Shutters Beachside Inn Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing