We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Phenomenal Mistake!”

Topside Grill and Pub
Ranked #3 of 139 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Topside Grill offers Seafood, Italian, American Comfort food. Fresh simple good food. We are not trying to impress you with ingredients you've never heard of, we prepare local food the way we feel you'll enjoy it. Harbor views in our dinning room and a fun bar & pub upstairs. Try us, you'll be glad you did!
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
“A Phenomenal Mistake!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I made the mistake of unknowingly asking the owners of Topside if they had eaten there before, and whether it was good...not only were they gracious and pleasant, they made sure the entire meal was top notch. Seated at a window table, my husband and I enjoyed the wine (excellent), the appetizer of native scallops wrapped in bacon (superb), and, respectively, homemade lasagna (delicious), and sauteed scallops Topside Style (phenomenal). Dennis, Dawn, and their partner (aka: son) checked on us during the meal, chatted about our vacation plans, and were more than welcoming. Our waitress, Victoria, was attentive, prompt, thorough, and a joy. Excellent experience, phenomenal food! - Mark and Annemarie Brower

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMB731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    157
    61
    40
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tewksbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
252 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Went for Lunch after a whale watch”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Five of us returned from the 7 sea's whale watch decided to try Topside Grill and Pub. Conveniently across the street.
(Special for the day) Native Haddock sandwich with Cottage Fries -- it was good and filling
Clam Chowder Bowl -- Huge bowl had good flavor
Waitress was on top took real good care of us

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Weevaluate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topside G, General Manager at Topside Grill and Pub, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello, my name is Doug and I wanted to respond to your review. Thank you very much for the feedback, but i'm not too sure why we received a low mark from you. In your reveiw, you seemed to enjoy the food, service and portion sizes. Is there something we might have missed? Please let me know if there was something we could improve upon to make others have a fantastic experience. I hope you enjoyed your whale watch and time here in Gloucester.

-Doug Silva
Topside Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Lobster was AMAZING - Service was EVEN BETTER!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We ate here after a day of whale watching and were really impressed with everything about this place. It was a lot bigger on the inside then it looks like from the street, and the atmosphere really feels like a true New England pub by the sea.

The lobster was amazing, along with their fish. We had been all over New England and had tried a lot of great places, but the service at the Topside was the BEST BY FAR! Our waitress, Leanne was one of our favorite that we have ever had - conversational and really knowledgeable about the culture of Gloucester, but also very fun to talk to. She had the "it" that many wait-staff workers don't posses. We have already recommended this place to friends, and we would absolutely go out of our way to eat here again. Cannot say enough about it.

If you are in the area, this is an easy place to find - just off of the water in Gloucester!

Thanks Topside Staff!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, welcoming atmosphere, awesome service”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Topside Grill has the best seafood I have discovered in the greater New England area. The comfortable and relaxed atmosphere made me feel right at home. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the service was excellent. I definitely recommend this as a must-stop when visiting Gloucester.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KLC3883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Atmosphere- Service- and Food”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We are from Toronto, Ontario and our friends in Rockport brought us to The Topside Grill and Pub to join their friends for an evening out. How wonderful to feel so welcome and relaxed at this lovely, spot with a sea view Every effort was made to make sure we were happy with the service and food. My husband and I had salmon which was delicious and everyone in our group were very happy with their meal. Our waitress always had a smile on her face and she made our evening so memorable. It was a fun time and the prices were decent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrendaS257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topside Grill and Pub also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Topside Grill and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing