We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub”

Topside Grill and Pub
Ranked #3 of 139 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Topside Grill offers Seafood, Italian, American Comfort food. Fresh simple good food. We are not trying to impress you with ingredients you've never heard of, we prepare local food the way we feel you'll enjoy it. Harbor views in our dinning room and a fun bar & pub upstairs. Try us, you'll be glad you did!
Roseville, California
2 reviews
“Great Pub”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We visited Gloucester in July. We visited the pub as our first step. Great environment and ambiance. Bartender 'Antoine' was fab. He was friendly, informative, provided recommendations for the rest of our visit and made us feel very welcomed at the pub. He was also an excellent ambassador for Gloucester.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlennReece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    157
    61
    40
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virum
Level Contributor
120 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Seafront dinner”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Seafront, seafood dinner in the very centre if bustling Gloucester. We had scallops wrapped in bacon and Sautéed Gulf Shrimp among other things - all very delicious. An interesting selection if wine and local draft beer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MortenBjerregaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The plates are big! The food is great: The Topside seafood FRA DIAVALO is terrific! My wife choose Native Fresh Haddock: satisfaction!!! With the menu, the salad is perfect as "entrée". We say many thanks to Nico for his kindness. We are french speaking from Québec and Nico spoke some words in french! So cute!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Faublas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clam Chowder Not as Good as it Use to be”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Had lunch there while staying in Gloucester and had the clam chowder twice and cream of mushroom soup once. Both tasted very much like flour. Last year they had the best but not now...you want a great clam chowder, go to "Morning Glory"...best I ever had!!! The people at Topside are terrific and some of their other dishes look good too...try it but skip the chowder.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday afternoon”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were approached by a young girl on the street with a coupon for the lobster special. That was the reason we went in. She was VERY nice and professional. We were seated and introduced to our server. Our waitress was unattentive. If your going to give bad service you should atleast have a bit of personality, she did NOT!
Also I wan't impressed that they didn't give us refills on soda. The soda bill alone was $20. We are big spenders when it comes to eating out so atleast give me a free diet coke!
On a positive note, my husband thought the chowder was the best he's had!
I ordered a chicken dish that was just okay and he had the lobster.
Overall I wouldn't waste my time going back with all the fine restaurants in the Gloucester area!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topside Grill and Pub also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Topside Grill and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing