We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice walk”

Rocky Neck Art Colony
Book In Advance
More Info
$139.00*
and up
Gloucester Harbor Cruise with Brunch and Live Jazz
Ranked #13 of 56 things to do in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The oldest working artist's colony in the country.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice walk”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Rocky Neck is one of the nicest walk you can take in Gloucester. You'll probably find the more interesting restaurants of the city while meeting artists presenting their work in a very welcoming fashion. The scenery provides one of the natural inspiration for painters living in the community. If you are staying in Gloucester, do not hesitate to visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    38
    24
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northeast USA
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Rocky Neck -”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We always love to walk down RN and enjoy the views of the boats and pop in the many art studios. We have one painting from the art colony here and it is the favorite one in my house. Galleries hours are spotty, so just enjoy what you can when you go here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank emeraldisle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Meander through the narrow streets of Rocky Neck”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Finding a place to park may be more difficult than finding photo ops in this artist colony! This is especially true in the summer. Many of Gloucester more famous artists made their gallery and home in Rocky Neck. It can be "crusty"! It can be funky! So, take time to meander the narrow streets, boat yard and wharf area to step into the old-time gallery world of artists like Gruppe, Hibbard and many more. Talk with the gallery staff and put yourself in the artists' perspective. We spent a day wandering and had lunch at a one of the restaurants at the beginning of Rocky Neck. I suggest firing a place to park, leave your car and just start walking around.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank G J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Had higher expectations”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Was excited to see, but bit disappointed. Views were beautiful but art wasn't for us. Plus many galleries were closed. One shop (Imagine Gallery) was fun, won't be back to colony though. And it's sad because it holds lots of history.

Helpful?
2 Thank hollette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Mostly closed”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was disappointed that most of the galleries were closed. Our visit was in early October; I was surprised that the "season" didn't extend into leaf-peeping weeks. The few that we were able to visit had great choices.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GinMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Neck Art Colony also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Rocky Neck Art Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing