We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Breathtaking!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gloucester Center

Ranked #19 of 52 things to do in Gloucester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Downtown working-class section of Gloucester.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We flew in to BOS and Gloucester was recommended to at least drive and enjoy the harbor. We bought coffee and sat by the harbor, chatting with the locals that walked by and was given some very helpful tourist tips of where to drive and visit during our stay in New England. I wish we had a longer visit but this is definitely a place I want to come back to. Stunning! :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sherflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blackstone, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Trip to Cape Ann”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Going to Cape Ann area in Gloucester, MA make sure you take a harbor tour. That's about the only thing there is to do there. There aren't many other attractions, not much in the way of unique shops or things to do.
We took the Lighthouse tour which was 2 1/2 hours long and narrated by a very comical gentleman who is native to the area so he new all about it. We saw places from the water you would never see otherwise. The weather was beautiful and the trip was fabulous. Lots of picture taking opportunities. There are some good restaurants near the water but not much else. The King Eider (name of boat) is not a huge tour boat which was nice and it made the trip more enjoyable because you went into places a bigger boat wouldn't be able to go. We even had to wait for the bridge to open to let us pass. Overall the day was good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu-Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Needs improvement.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The trouble with Gloucester is that it has no center - unless you mean the seedy St. Peter's Square where they hold the annual Fiesta. Gloucester roads are horrible.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank amortizor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Scenic town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very nice oceanside town. Entire Cape Ann area has great views, and many quiet beaches.

Niles Beach just outside central Gloucester a great place to spend a morning or afternoon. Quiet, calm waters, easy parking, friendly lifeguards, beautiful views.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JonnyInMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely and interesting memorial and town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I am in love with this town and the memorial to sailors. See my pictures. Take time to walk along the walk enhanced by flags flying in the wind. It is romantic. Watch the bridge being raised and look at the ships and boats coming into the harbor. Look at all the lovely homes right across the street from the memorial and pick out the one you want (ok - I kidding). There are plenty of eating places, an artist colony nearby, whale watch ships in season (we did that), a schooner that takes you around the harbor (that is on the list for the next trip). Sun and sea air - what more could you want.
Be sure to find the plaques with the names of the sailors who have died at sea from the 1600s to mid-1900s. The old fashioned names will intrigue you.
Be prepared to drive narrow, curvy roads. Be prepared to be stopped at the bridge while it is raised. Be prepared to drive a rotary (round about).
Have great time - we did.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gloucester Center also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Gloucester Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing