We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding at the Colonial Hotel”
Review of Colonial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gardner
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great Wedding at the Colonial Hotel”
Reviewed November 3, 2010

It was a chilly fall night, but our son's wedding, under the tent at the Colonial Hotel in Gardner, was one of the best we've ever attended. The tent was beautifully set up, the food was exceptionally hot and tasty, and the service was friendly and professional. As parents of the groom, many of our friends from out of town spent the night, enjoying a clean,comfortable room and a delicious buffet breakfast the next morning, all at a very reasonable rate. We had never been to the hotel before, but found it to be a great value. We were a little nervous, not knowing much about the place before our event, but our experience was terrific and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    55
    41
    18
    19
See reviews for
70
52
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Spent one week night and found was pleasantly surprised by the value to be exceptional. very clean and comfortable- staff was very helpful. No smoking was a plus for us also

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrtpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for friend's wedding, got group rate $119.95/night, included breakfast buffet. Parking was free. We got a room with two double beds (strangely rate $7 less), on the first floor. Iron and board in the room. Our room was right near the ice machine (but out of order--may have been a blessing in disguise) so had to go to the 2nd floor for ice.
AC works great! The room was a bit drab but I've seen worse. The oddest thing: a small 'fridge' in the TV cabinet, it had an outlet and all but did not function. When I made reservation, they noted there is a cooler in the room to put ice in, and that's exactly what it was.
The breakfast buffet the next morning was fresh and delicious! Fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, waffles, french toast, home fries, bacon, cereal, and OJ. They even had a make-to-order omelet station set up! Very polite chef who made an awesome omelet!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

The room was spacious and the breakfast was good (costs extra on weekends). We used this as a quick overnight to do some biking in the area. The only drawback was that there was a sports group and the teenagers ran through the hallways and yelled for some hours (and out back as well). Turning on the fan helped a lot with white noise.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanish_af
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Ephraim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Traveled to area for a hockey tournament with my son's team (8-9 year olds). The hotel imposed rules that apparently don't apply to everyone. We are told we can't have coolers, but other guests were not subject to the same rules; walked cooler right by the desk clerk with nothing said, yet others in our group were told to take them back to their car. We take entire team to the restaurant/pub for food and to watch a hockey Stanley Cup game (not much else around in the way of restaurantsin the area). Barely finished eating and we are told the kids have to leave because it's a bar. Applebees is a bar by that standard and I have never been told I could stay, but my 9 year old had to leave. I could go on, but the place is stuffy - don't bring families with kids!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockeydad3126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gardner hotels

Gardner, Ma
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

The hotel looks nice and elegant enough, but their beds are like rocks. You think with all the dough you drop to get a room there, you would get something a little better than a Super 8 experience. The only positive thing is that is has an outstanding restaurant. You pay an arm and a leg to eat there, but it is really good.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cj_lapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

what a great stay!!! DO NOT believe the other reviews this hotel is clean, modern and beautiful.The staff is the best, and we are world travelers. This was a quick weekend escape, but the price was great, food was 4 star and pub was great with live band. It is a drive to see some sites but to relax ,swim and enjoy the beauty it is the place to go. We can't wait to go back. Josh,Meghan and Victoria are such an asset they made a great stay even better.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meadowmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardner
9.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Leominster
17.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Devens Common Center
21.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Boxborough (I-495 Exit 28)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Gardner
Super 8 Gardner
#2 of 2 in Gardner
279 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Westminster
Rodeway Inn Westminster
#1 of 1 in Westminster
69 reviews
5.0 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge New England
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Hotel

Property: Colonial Hotel
Address: 625 Betty Spring Rd, Gardner, MA 01440-2400
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Gardner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gardner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colonial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Gardner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing