We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The light dinners/snacks that were served each night were...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Franklin / Milford Area
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Franklin
Reviewed February 24, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,037)
There are newer reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Franklin / Milford Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

871 - 877 of 1,037 reviews

A Wyndham traveler
Mansfield
6723
Reviewed February 22, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Welcome/Check-In Experience
The front desk agent was slightly creepy, but very friendly nonetheless. Check-in was quick and easy. It took less than 5 minutes.

Room
The room was FREEZING! The heater was off and there was still snow on the ground outside. It was very chilly and dark. I quickly turnedon the heater and settled in. The room was very dark.The decor was very outdated. There is a small kitchenette. There are two coil burners, a small sink, dishwasher and utensils. The dining table doubles as a desk, but is odd because there's a broken rolling desk chair and a regular table char (that was pretty beat up). The refigerator was a small mini-fridge from the 1980s. It had wood paneling on the front. It didn't really cool much, but I didn't use it that much anyway. There is a microwave in the room as well as a small coffee machine. I didn't use either. The room had a worn out old hotel-couch and a matching worn-out coffee table. The dresser and all other "wood" furniture was also well-worn. The room has a nice flat-screen LG television. Lighting in the room was poor. The lights by the bed couldn't be controlled by a lightswitch. There is a vanity area that was convenient for drying my hair. There was a chair there as well.

Bathroom
The bathroom was smaller, but adequate. The shower was slippery and I was concerned that there was residue left from either soap or the cleaning product used. The towels were really hard and almost see-through. I found a pubic hair on a hand towel. Obviously, I didn't use that. The shower head had rust on it and the water spray wasn't even - it was all over the place. The water did get very hot.

Bed
The bed had a pad on it and it was really hot at night. The pillows were totally worn out and there were only two pillows on the queen-size bed. Every other hotel I've ever stayed at has several pillows. The pillows were really small. I don't even know where the hotel would have gotten these pillows from. They were so small. The sheets were clean and were not that hard.

Heating/AC
By the time I settled into room and took a shower, the heater had come on. It was really hot, so I lowered the temperature back down to 70 degrees. The room would not cool off at all and the heat kept coming out of the heater. I ended up opening the windows each night in an attempt to reglate the temperature. If I didn't have the heat on, the room was way too cold, but I could never get the heater to turn off, so I had to open the windows up, even though it was about 16 degrees at night.

Gym
The gym had a couple of treadmills and some other machines. It was pretty small. The treadmill was kind of wonky and uneven. The hotel also ended up having two brand new ellipticals and a recumbent bike delivered in boxes during my stay. Unfortunately, these also stayed in front of the elevator for the week-long duration of my stay. Apparently, the gym also offers a free pass to a local gym, which I was not aware of until my last day.

Parking
The parking isn't that great here. There is a row in front of the hotel and maybe 20 spots on the sides of the hotel. Based on the number of rooms, I'd expect a lot more parking. When I stayed, there was still a lot of snow on the ground. The hotel didn't really clear this off of the parking spots and I found myself regularly running over mounds of ice and scratching my vehicle.

Overall
The hotel staff is the only thing keeping this place afloat. They were very kind and always answered my questions. They said good morning and good evening and wished me a good day. The rooms definitely left something to be desired. I'm really shocked that this is a Wyndham property. If this is what they're projecting, I don't even want to know what is going on at the main Wyndham hotels. There is nothing within walking distance. The hotel does offer breakfast, but it's limited. I think the hotel definitely needs a major remodel. I hope this improves so that the employees can continue providing excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsTravelQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Franklin
Hampton Inn Franklin
#1 of 3 in Franklin
509 reviews
2.8 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Franklin
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Foxborough Patriot Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mansfield-Foxboro Area
8.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#2 of 2 in Mansfield
324 reviews
8.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 6 in Foxboro
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Franklin / Milford Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Franklin / Milford Area

Address: 835 Upper Union Street, Franklin, MA 02038-2583
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Franklin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Franklin
Price Range: $116 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Franklin / Milford Area 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the comforts of home during your nightly or extended stay at our Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Franklin/Milford Area hotel. Perfect for business travel or a weekend getaway, our location is near Gillette Stadium, Wrentham Village Premium Outlets, and Southwick's Zoo, and right off I-495, making it easy to reach the area's best shopping, dining, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Franklin / Milford Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Franklin Hotel Franklin
Hawthorn Suites Franklin
Franklin Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites Ltd Franklin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing