We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sausage, Biscuits, and Gravy...oh my!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Framingham
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Framingham
Central NY
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Sausage, Biscuits, and Gravy...oh my!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed mid-week Tues. - Fri. and it didn't seem the hotel was overly crowded, which is nice.

General Location of Property - Very good, easy access to I-90 and just 3/4 miles from Natick Mall and quite a few chain restaurants within a short distance. The Commuter Rail station (Framingham) is only a few miles away with plenty of parking spaces even for a mid-week peak time park. Problem is, if you don't catch an express train (30 mins), you end up on the rails for over an hour to travel about 22 miles to / from Boston.

Check-in / Check-out: Very easy check-in ...all of 5 minutes. Check out was just as easy, a simple drop off of the keys, which I probably didn't even have to do these days but do anyways. We were given room 3101 (third floor west side) in what would be called the "new" building according to other reviewers.

The Building / Grounds - Will have to agree with other reviewers that they need to kill the gray hall motif and fluorescent lighting. Now, by town code, they probably can't stop using fluoro. But they can get better fixtures and choose a new color to lighten up the halls. As they stand now, they do seem dim and dreary, albeit clean, but this does knock off 1/2 star on my rating. The rooms are very big and spacious, but they lack a refrigerator or a microwave when there is plenty of room for both. Refrigerators are available for a fee, but I think these days, even in standard hotels, that these should be standard fare. Knocked off another 1/2 star for this. My wife complained that the sheets were old and "pilly" and they needed to be replaced. Housekeeping was adequate, changed out towels daily, replenished coffee and toiletries, made the beds, nothing special, nothing lacking. Plenty of parking, but the further out back you go the lighting starts to trail off.

The Pool - Very big and spacious, and the water was well cared for, clean and clear and a good temperature. But as another reviewer stated, it's only open from 3pm - 10pm during the week and 12pm - 10pm weekdays. And I agree that this should be noted on their website. A quick chat with the lifeguard rendered a lack of finding lifeguards as the reason for the odd hours. Another 1/2 star removed from my rating for this. Not a deal buster, but a pain when you want to just spend a "pool day" at the hotel rather than tour Boston. They do allow for town residents to join the pool "membership", which may be the "long term residents" another reviewer is referring to. In fact, the hotel owners son, his wife, and their children were swimming one day (found this out through the lifeguard)

Continental Breakfast - Was surprisingly good. And the best thing ...Sausage, Biscuits, and Gravy!!!! Which really wasn't bad at all, tasty even. Cereals were fresh, pancakes fresh off an automatic griddle, fresh breads, microwaveable breakfast sandwiches, yogurt, fresh fruit and a very pleasant attendant that made sure things were stocked and the tables were clean. Added a 1/2 star back for this as some people could care a less about the breakfast so I won't weigh it heavily in my star rating.

Overall - A decent stay with very few issues at an average hotel. I would be comfortable recommending this hotel to a friend or family member and would stay again myself. This is one of a very FEW hotels to have a pool in Framingham (probably because of the town enforced mandatory lifeguard). This isn't the Marriott or Hilton and I won't compare apple to oranges. If you want a comfortable stay for a reasonable price, this is the place.

Room Tip: Stick with the "new" looking building. The "old" building has balconies with sca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepiratemorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    100
    62
    19
    19
See reviews for
95
58
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loudon, TN, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Non-Smoking Room had a smoking odor. The elevator to the 5th floor wasn't always operational. The breakfast room was clean and maintained very nicely. The free breakfast was very good, the fruit was fresh and replenished quickly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Important points to know:
Pool has a lifeguard (city enforced), so the pool is open on weekdays 3-10pm, weekends 12-10. Wasn't noted anywhere on the website. This is good to know when you are here on business & you bring your family & kids want to swim for entertainment.

Hallways are dark, they all stink & smell of a different odor. Some of it may have been smoking. Very poor lighting, very dingy looking.

Carpet is stained throughout hotel.

Breakfast room was tidy. Choices were limited but sufficient for our needs.

Elevator was gross & wonky. For no reason the elevator would light up all floors & stop at each one.

There is another area of the hotel (where the pool & fitness room is located) that looks to have permanent residency or very long term stay people living there. This can be creepy, just sayin'!
Do not send your kids to swim at the pool unsupervised due to creepy people swimming. Just an observation!

If you have kids on the trip with you, don't expect to get towels & washclothes for the them. Seriously, this was an issue for 4 days that I had to deal with. They said it got fixed in the system, but it didn't. I begged daily for 4 wash cloths & 4 towels daily. Never happened. So I started using hand towels to wash my face & body with. I called twice. I talked face to face with them 3x times. Didn't happen people. I continued to get 2 wash cloths & 3 towels for 4 days!

The reason we stayed here was because it did have a pool. It did have a mall, shopping & dining close by. The room was bigger than normal & the room was clean, thank God. If the room would have been gross, we would have turned around & walked out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kt0775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Framingham hotels

Framingham, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Best hotel I have ever stayed in. Room was spacious, quiet, friendly staff, breakfast was excellent. Excellent coffee. Never heard anyone leaving hotel following morning. Nor did we ever hear any housekeeping working. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
253 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We needed a place to stay after landing in Boston and before traveling west. This BW worked out fine. Free breakfast was acceptable, though it would have been better if the dining room stayed open a bit longer - we felt rushed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjbouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

After booking a non smoking room (supposedly on a non smoking floor), the stench of cigarette smoke (possibly from bathroom vent) became apparent in the middle of the night and again in the early morning. An otherwise clean, comfortable and fairly priced accommodation was negated by this issue. No offer to compensate for poor experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our visits to Best Western over the years have been consistently good. The quality of the facility depending on age, properity of area etc. varies quite a bit but the staff is always friendly and efficient and will help in any way they can. I had a particularly interesting experience being stranded, during Sandy,m in Pittsburgh by myself after a high school reunion when I had the last flight out and the other 12 attendees arrived home safely. Things got a bit frustrating due to my misunderstanding (or the desk?) about needing transportation to the airport in the morning. At the last minute I had to pay for a cab and combined with 2 additional nights in an unshared room made for a very expensive experience. On this visit I found that other guests were just as pleasant as the staff and we all supported each other during a very stressful experience. Certainly my most memorable visit. This year my husband and I took a trip together and it was calm and fun.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Framingham
1.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Boston Framingham
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston-Natick
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Boston - Natick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Framingham Hotel & Conference Center
4.4 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Framingham
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Boston Natick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Framingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Framingham

Property: Magnuson Hotel Framingham
Address: 130 Worcester Rd, Framingham, MA 01702-5371 (Formerly Framingham Hotel)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Framingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Framingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Framingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to join us in our new journey as a new brand under new management, Magnuson Hotel Framingham. Located only 15 miles from Logan International Airport, 19 miles from Concord, the Magnuson Hotel Framingham has easy access to I-90, located on Worcester Road, surrounded by shopping and dining venues. Boston is 35 miles, Providence Rhode Island is 53 miles, and Hartford, CT, is 82 miles from this hotel. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, all of our guests will enjoy sensational dining and shopping within walking distance from the Hotel. Our location makes it easy to step out and explore all that Historical Boston has to offer without the higher city prices. Great shopping and restaurants at the Shopping World Mall are a short two minute walk from the Magnuson Hotel Framingham. If you are in the area visiting local colleges and universities, we are within 35 miles of Harvard, Wellesley, Boston University, and Babson College. Framingham State University is two miles. Family fun at the Fun and Games Family Entertainment Center is two blocks from the Magnuson Hotel Framingham. Along with a great location, guests can enjoy a free breakfast and use the on-site fitness center during their stay. Other hotel amenities include a business center, guest laundry facilities, free parking, coffee service in the lobby. Standard room amenities include a hair dryer, alarm clock radio, cable TV with extra stations, free local calls, electronic door locks, and individually controlled air conditioning and heater. Corporate travelers will find all the amenities they expect including business center, High Speed Wireless Internet and a complimentary USA Today newspaper. We should be up and running completely on-line with Magnuson by November 1, 2015. Important Info : You must show a valid photo ID and credit card upon check-in. Cash is not an accepted form of payment without a valid credit card available to pre-authorization for the full amount of your stay. Please note that all special requests cannot be guaranteed and are subject to availability upon check-in. Additional charges may apply. Guests under the age of 21 are only allowed to check in with a parent or official guardian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Framingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Framingham Hotel Framingham
Framingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing