Fifth visit but this was the only unpleasant adventure in MA. This was the first time we chose a family-run hotel. We liked the location- off the highway. At Monticello motel, we paid before entering room. First impression-center of bed sagged. Manager changed room but next room was musty in similar condition-bed was uneven as well. We decided to cancel. No refunds! The management upgraded but 'suite' had musty- mold-like smell. Housekeeping was poor-surfaces were sticky- used wet wipes. No wardrobe- hung clothes on lamp shade rim. Blinds in bathroom broken. Windows stuck-potential fire hazard. Aircon unit control was fixed and cannot be adjusted. Unit was stuffy until we cleaned the filter. In our exhaustion, we put up with these problems in our adventure.
Until in the middle of my shower, warm water dripped to a stop! That was it! No notice served and manager replied---he had no idea why but his plumber will fix it (?) soon but unsure when water will flow. At this stage, we questioned and feared our comfort. We checked out immediately without any refunds. We informed the manager we will be posting a review for future visitors- and he said -"go ahead!" Fifteen minutes, after we checked into a nearby chain motel- at the same price --a room where everything worked as advertised- we relaxed at last.
Certainly, Monticello motel had been an expensive and unpleasant experience. We recommend future quests check facilities and room neighbors before checking in and offering payment.
We had extreme difficulty finding this hotel. The desk clerk was very difficult to understand and gave poor directions. We were so tired and glad to have a room. First room was fair but the air conditioner didn't work. Made lots of noise but didn't put out any air. Called the desk. He came down to check it out. Switched us to another room but made us walk back down to the office to get a key. 2nd room wasn't even fair - smelled strongly of ? Sheets on bed very scratchy! Didn't feel very safe here - many men hanging over balcony on end section of hotel - must've been extended stay place. The next am went for continental breakfast 1 hour before the end. Only one micro sized muffin left - man at desk just stared at us. Didn't offer anything else or explanation. Glad to leave this place.
I stayed at this motel with friends during a conference. We came from New York that day and were tired from the trip and looking forward to getting into our rooms and getting some rest before a busy conference day. To our dismay, the rooms were small, dark and smelled musty and dirty. We decided that we did not want to stay there and went to the office to ask for our money back (we booked in advance, big mistake) and the management was no help at all!! They offered us an "upgrade" on our rooms at no cost. What a deal right? Ha! The new rooms were just as smelly and dirty and rundown! some of my colleagues felt sorry for the motel clerk, so they agreed to stay in these "better" rooms. (another mistake). We found the sheets on the beds stained with yellow/brown spots. the bedding smelled of musty cigarette smoke. I was afraid to put my head on the pillow. Needless to say, none of us got any sleep that night. We all got out of there early and, without even asking for a refund for the second night , checked out and went to a nicer hotel.
This hotel should never be considered...IT IS TRUE...there are many long term residents there...there may also be individuals who rent by "hour"
The rooms were musty-saturated with cigarette smoke and cigarette burns on the furniture-I was in a party of 6 and we reserved 3 rooms-this was the case for all of the rooms! We attempted to leave at check in and were advised by orbitz that there would be a financial penalty and the desk clerk offered an "upgrade" to 3 of their "apartments". Although slightly better the room had overwhelming cooking odors-dirty sheets-and the carpet smelled of urine! There were dirty tissues on the floor and opened milk and orange juice in one of the refrigerators! Overall a disgusting experience!!!!!!!!!! DOn't even consider this "hotel"!!!
After reading some positive reviews of this place, I decided to give it a try. I made my reservation directly with the property and received a confirmation page that said "Best Western - Monticello" at the top. There is a Best Western hotel next door so thinking I was there, I showed up only to find out that I was in the wrong place. I am fairly sure that a chain like Best Western would not have a property like this in their portfolio, so I am pretty suspicious of the motives here. When I finally got to the property I observed a run down looking building that looked like it was imported from the 1940's. The desk clerk was dressed in an army fatigue jacket. When I showed up at my assigned room, the cigarette smell was so bad I could not even enter the room. After a second "non-smoking" room was assigned and it too stunk like smoke, I went back to the desk and told them it wasnt going to work out and they agreed to cancel my reservation. I found accomodations elsewhere. This is truly one of those times when you "get what you pay for" and in this case it isnt much.