We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not the worst motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monticello Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monticello Motel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Framingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not the worst motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I chose this motel according to low price and location close to Boston. It's really close to highway. Walmart and few other stores are nearby. WiFi was very poor. Rooms was clean but the bath was really, ehm, bad. Personnel wasn't the best I've ever experienced. When I and my friends ask the guy from the desk where is the closest beer store he told us "I'll take you there!" But after few minutes he told us that all he wants are just two Heinekens... I think this is not the way he should deal with guests.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakubkollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    9
    9
    36
See reviews for
23
17
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed before 5 years and it's surprised me a lot. Nice people working and they always ready for customer service. Rooms are old style but clean. Bathroom need little modern touch...but i got everything what i paid for...

Continental breakfast surprised me even more in this price .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rahim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The staff was personable and professional, willing to accomodate to your needs. The location was ideal, right on Rt. 9 across from the malls, shopping, and supermarkets--eery conventient going to Boston or the suburbs.. The night times were very quiet; easy to get a good night's rest. They allows pets. The rooms were quite large!

Room Tip: Just tell management what you require and they wil try to accomodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I took my sister & nephew to Boston for 3 days. I had advanced reservations for this motel for two nights. We arrived @ 8;30 and by the looks of the place from the outside, I told them I wanted to do a walk-thru before we brought our bags in. Friends, be warned, this place is a complete DUMP! I was so embarrassed, we immediately turned around , got in the car and sought lodging elsewhere! I would give this place ZERO stars if that was an option. The room was run down, tiles missing in the outdated bathroom, dirty room & bad oder. A roach motel indeed! As stated in previous posts, I wouldn't be surprised if most of their business is hourly rentals. One more thing, our room looked nothing like the room on the website! Horrible!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgirl6241967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Framingham hotels

Framingham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed at the monticello for 2 nights to look at apartments in the Boston area. I choose it for its low price and convenient location but I will never make that mistake again. On my second night I was woken up by screaming guests above me who were having a physical and verbal argument at 2am. I was so concerned about the noise that I called the police. The police arrived and told me that the hotel was not safe and that I should not stay. I left in the middle of the night to drive to the marriot. When I called the next day to explain the situation, I expected the front desk to be horrified and comp me the night. Instead, he blamed me for not telling the front desk at 2am that I was leaving and said that he would charge me extra if I didn't return the key on time. It was a horrible experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Was heading to Boston for the Sox home opener. After 7 hours on the road, I came here based upon an advertisement/coupon in one of the travel books at the Mass Pike service plaza. I didn't want to fight my way into the city. I went into the lobby (10 PM or so) to see a scruffy guy behind a dirty counter shooting the breeze with a somewhat scantily dressed female who was paying for her room in cash...hmmm, first flag. They seemed to be known , like she was a weekend regular. I was quoted a price and when i presented the coupon which advertised $30 cheaper, he rolled his eyes and advised me that was for a non smoking single, but all he had was a double.. OK, so the price was a bit more on the upsell, but I was tired, and the place advertised free breakfast. I went to my room, and found it next to a busy room with some folks obviously having a good party, including an barrel of empties out front and the door open. OK, I am tired. My room was old, tired and not very clean, but I checked for bugs and none were there. All night i was treated to the sounds of cars coming in and out, NOT staying, and when I was looking out the window, it seeemed to me that this was a very popular destination for very short term (by the hour) visits to several adjacent rooms. My guess is that some of the occupants were very busy entertaining a series of guests. The parking lot was shoddy, lots of loud music, loud voices , the works. In the morning, the neighbors were still leaving the door open, there were a couple ofnmpeople passed out in the room, several cases of empty beer bottles in and around the overflowing trash can, and several puddles of vomit...bad night. The free breakfast was laughable. The OJ was still frozen so it wasn't available (at 9AM), and cold cereal and bad coffee were the options. All in all,this is a scruffy place that is a cross between transient laborers and a hot sheet motel. I kept waiting for the vice squad to raid the joint. Never ever again.

Room Tip: get one in another Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnyvous1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I've stayed at the Monticello quite a few times over the last few years... When ever I'm in the Boston area on business, I'll stay there, great location, friendly staff, great value!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Framingham
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Framingham
Magnuson Hotel Framingham
#4 of 7 in Framingham
3.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Boston Framingham
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston-Natick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Boston - Natick
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Boston Natick
4.3 mi away
Sheraton Framingham Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monticello Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monticello Motel

Property: Monticello Motel
Address: 90 Worcester Rd, Framingham, MA 01702-5308
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Framingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Framingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monticello Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Monticello Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monticello Hotel Framingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing