We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bother”

John Harvard's Brew House
Ranked #10 of 203 Restaurants in Framingham
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Shoppers World Drive. 2nd entrance
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I decided to give this restaurant a second chance after a previous visit that included a charred "medium" burger and burnt brownies in a sundae. Lesson learned after this visit - don't go! The service was attentive but the food is just disgusting and expensive on top of it. I had a salad that was absolutely inedible - something in it had a chemical aftertaste and after fishing around to try to figure out what to avoid, it just wasn't worth it. The server asked if I wanted it wrapped up (since I only ate about 5 bites) and I told her about the chemical taste. She said that she would let the kitchen know and that was the end of it. No adjustment on the bill or anything. Bottom line: don't bother.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maddy122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    79
    52
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bartender was a complete idiot”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was a go to spot for me when in the area on business. Most of the time I am able to sit at the bar and the food is average. I ordered a Pale Ale and was a little disappointed in its lack of flavor so I commented on its lack of flavor. Me: Gee I thought this would have more flavor. Fat Bartender: What did you expect? some California Beer? Its our most popular. Me: well, I just expected more. Can I try the pilsner? I get it and its even worse. Fat Bartender: What do you think? Me: I don't like it Fat Bartender: I thought so, nobody likes it, it sucks. Me: Check please.
The Fat Bartender needs to find another job, maybe Walmar. Me, I need to find another beer barin Framingham. I'm headind to The British Beer Company

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Noisy but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Food was good - it was a fun place to go, however very noisy for dinner…quieter at lunch. They offer a good selection of beers on tap. Fish and chips were tasty and their pot pie was great!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Homemade Draft Ales with excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

This place has it right. There are many choices of draft beers and ales that they make to satisfy any taste. Beer and Ale is their specialty with a lmited selection of wines. The food choices are varied, freshly prepared and presented well. Their portions are generous at reasonable prices. My wife loves this place..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
470 reviews
361 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great brew, great food and selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Went on a family evening after seeing Skyfall in Jordan's IMAX. No reservations accepted on weekends. We had to wait but it wasn't too bad. This place is popular and busy. The brew is great. We shared a pitcher of their Harvest Spice. The glasses came rimmed in spiced sugar! It was so good. We tried the calamari as an app and it great. They give you this amazing warm bread with dipping oil first. We all tried something different for our meal. Dinner salad, Shepard pie. Chic Mac 'n cheese, and a burger. Everything was great. We shared their special dessert Pumpkin bread pudding with ice cream. Wonderful. Can't go wrong here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plastx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Harvard's Brew House also viewed

 

Been to John Harvard's Brew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing